Gerard Mulot

I’ve read a lot about Gerard Mulot since my first visit to Paris 4 years back, and was really disappointed when I missed it then. Famous for their chocolates and patisseries, I first learnt of GM when reading a book on Paris patissieres (that I have 5 of those huge-ass books says much about my obsession with Paris). I swear those pages of their wonderful entremets and chocolates were screaming “EAT ME”. So while revising my itinerary for France 2013, I was determined to pop by at least once. Or twice. Thrice maybe?

 photo IMG_7687_zpsa64c4d82.jpg

I visited the outlet situated along the quiet borders of the 13th and the 14th – a very strategic location imho. mere 10 minutes walk away from the exit of Les Catacombes de Paris, it’s the perfect place for a sweet bite after the solemn morbidity of the tourist site.

 photo GerardMulot1_zps3d5958e1.jpg

 photo IMG_7691_zpsb1454a64.jpg

What about these patisseries that really gets me off, is the huge variety of saliva-inducing sweets they boast and the utter impossibility of tasting every single one of them. The damn dichotomy! Yes I am fat but I’m not that fat. With our limited tummy space we settled on having what we thought would be the least filling of the lot – the macarons.

 photo GerardMulotMacarons_zps022d3ca3.jpg

 photo IMG_7712_zps919fea27.jpg

Box of 9 macarons (€16). Flavours from top to bottom: Nougat, Passion/basilic, Feuille de menthe, Caramel au beurre salé, Pistache, Vanille, Noix de coco, Chocolat, Mangue Yuzu

With the nicely formed feet and a smooth waxy exterior, GM’s macarons passed the look-test. Does it taste as good was the nagging question. Biting into it, the crispy exterior gave way to a chewy almond shell and a smooth, creamy ganache/buttercream. Absolutely wonderful. Technical skills aside, GM nailed the flavours. My favourites were Passion/basilic, Caramel au beurre salé, Noix de coco, Mangue Yuzu. Classical flavours they perfected; but by nailing these new inventive flavours GM has definitely brought the bar up for macarons.

Yes I’m still bitter that I didn’t get to try GM’s other famous sweets, but I guess their unexpectedly delish macarons were worth it. Forget Pierre Hermé and Ladurée. GM’s not one you’d want to miss out on.

93, rue de la Glacière
75013 Paris
Tél : 01 45 81 39 09
Fax : 01 53 80 40 07
Hours: Tuesday-Sunday, 1000-1930

76, rue de Seine
75006 Paris
Tél : 01 43 26 85 77
Fax : 01 40 46 99 34
Hours: Monday-Sunday, 0645-2000
Closed on Wednesdays

6, rue du Pas de la Mule
75003 Paris
Tél : 01 42 78 52 17
Fax : 01 42 72 60 34
Hours: Tuesday-Sunday, 0800-2000

Tagged , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

