Simple Bread Pudding

Photobucket

Away from catching up on old posts and back to real time, the last week’s been an awesome one of culinary experimentation! We’d just returned from our annual trip, this time to Spain and Portugal, and I was dying to get cooking once more. And so lunch was under my charge for a few days, for me to play around with ideas and recipes.

Photobucket

Clockwise from top to bottom: Sweet potato chicken shepherd’s pie; Seared chicken breasts with a simple salsa, served with some caramelised apples with oregano; Seared scallops with blueberry glaze, served with roasted vegetables; Chicken roulade with watercress and fig and walnut cheese; Pork tenderloin bolognaise; Seared scallops and poached egg, served with roasted vegetables.

Recipes will be up as soon as I’m done catching up with a few posts!

Now back to the protagonist of this post, I always put of making bread pudding cause of all the cream that’s usually involved. This recipe however caught my attention cause, hey hey, no cream’s involved! That my hands were itching to make a lil something probably gave me a nudge in baking this. It’s my second attempt at bread pudding, with the first being a Nutella version that I haven’t posted about! Sighs.

Photobucket

The house smelled absolutely wonderful while this was baking up in the oven. I guess it’ll suffice to say everything was gone within an hour (: it was honestly quite funny to see my sisters eat it, cause they were exclaiming “ohmygosh I’m so full I can’t take another bite!” while eating! Oops bad time planning on my part cause they just finished lunch not long ago.

Soft, custardy yet not at all egg-ish, the texture of this bread pudding was way better than the previous nutella one (whose recipe I’d post up real soon). Taste-wise this recipe fared real well. It isn’t overly sweet, and the vanilla scent was distinct in every bite. Mixing wholemeal and white bread did give it an extra delish nutty taste. The next time I make this I might use a savoury bread instead, like the rosemary herbed bread I baked and used in the nutella bread pudding. I think it’d kick the bread pudding up a notch, making it more special than the usual vanilla flavours.

Foolproof and disgustingly straightforward, you really don’t need to be a baker to make this wonderfully hearty dessert. From prepping to chucking it into the oven, it’ll take less than 10 minutes!

Photobucket

Simple Bread Pudding (serves 6)
Recipe adapted from Cemplang Cemplung’s Bread Pudding

2 eggs, lightly beaten
625ml milk
1 teaspoon vanilla
1 teaspoon cinnamon powder
1/4 teaspoons salt
500g mixture of wholemeal and white bread, cut into cubes
110g sugar
70g raisins
Handful of dark chocolate chips

1. Preheat the oven to 180C.

2. In a large bowl, combine the beaten eggs, milk, vanilla, cinnamon, sugar and salt, stirring gently.

3. Place the bread slices and raisins into a well-greased baking dish, spreading them to get an even distribution of bread and raisins. Pour the egg mixture over the bread slices and sprinkle with extra cinnamon powder if desired.

4. Bake for 30 minutes. Remove from the oven and let it cool for about 15 minutes before eating.

Tagged , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Simple Bread Pudding

  1. Hi there πŸ™‚
    I came across your blog and glad you tried this recipe. I’m really glad you liked it πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

