Warm Fudgy Pudding Cake

IMG_1375

Warm Fudgy Pudding Cake

So I kinda made this one like a real long time back, but totally forgot to post about it when I went to Japan!(OMGOSH speaking of which I realised I have not concluded my series of travel posts yet!!!) I was trying to recall what I’ve made that I haven’t talk about yet, dug through my picture folders, and tadah found this!

IMG_1376

I saw this sinful looking babe on foodgawker and I was hooked. I simply had to make it. Seriously who in the right mind can resist a messy, gooey, fudgy blob of chocolatey goodness?

I’d slap you right now if you’re saying “me”.

IMG_1379

These were actually pretty good! Though they didn’t turn out exactly the way they were supposed to. Have to blame my massive adaptations for that. I replaced all the sugar with honey, which gave the cake a slightly denser and chewier texture, and quite a strong honey flavour. That wasn’t the problem. The pudding was. The original recipe called for a total of 1 cup of sugar, which I substituted entirely with 3/4 cups of honey. Standard substitution, but what I didn’t account for was the stickiness and utter honey-ness of the resulting puddling. It looked brown, looked chocolatey, but tasted cloyingly honey-ly. And possible because it was honey and not sugar, the cocoa could not combine well with it, and didn’t sink to the bottom of the dish when baked to form the pudding. Instead it remained at the top, still dry, like a super dusting of cocoa.

IMG_1378

Honestly though that’s not to say that they weren’t good! In fact half of it disappeared within the first 15 minutes of being taken out, and the remaining was gone the next day (: not too shabby after all! I still think there’s much to be done to make it the chocolate pudding I’ll head back for over and over again. Next time I might use only 1/2 cup of honey – or possibly a tablespoon or two lesser – for the cake batter, double the vanilla, and reduce the honey in the pudding by 2 tablespoons, adding 2 teaspoons of vanilla. I’d probably incorporate the cocoa with the honey first to prevent the dried cocoa layer from emerging.

Hell I might just follow the recipe!

Till then,

Warm Fudgy Pudding Cake (serves 6-8)
Adapted from The Kitchn’s Warm Fudgy Pudding Cake

For the cake:
1 cup all-purpose flour
1/2 cup honey
2 tablespoons unsweetened cocoa powder
2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon table salt
1/2 cup (4 ounces) milk, whole or 2%
1 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted
1 teaspoon vanilla

For the pudding:
3/4 cup honey
1/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
1 cup cold water

Nuts, chocolate chips, dried fruits, or any toppings you desire (optional)

1. Heat the oven to 180C. Grease or spray with non-stick cooking spray an 8″x”8 baking pan.

2. Sift the flour, cocoa powder, baking powder, and salt through a fine-meshed strainer into a mixing bowl. Combine the milk, melted butter, honey and vanilla. Pour the liquids over the dry ingredients, and stir gently with a spatula just until no more dry flour is visible. Fold in toppings if you’re using. Scrape this batter into the pan and smooth the top.

3. For the pudding layer, combine the honey and cocoa powder in a small bowl. Pour over the cake batter and shake the pan to evenly distribute the sugars.

4. Pour the cold water over the mixture. Do not stir. Put the pan immediately into the oven and bake for 40 to 45 minutes. As it bakes, the cake will rise to the top while the pudding forms beneath. The cake is finished baking when the edges of the cake turn dark brown and crispy, and when the top of the cake is shiny and dry to the touch.

5. Let the cake cool for at least 15 minutes before serving. Scoop slices of cake and the pudding beneath into individual bowls and top with ice cream. Leftovers will keep refrigerated for up to a week and can be reheated for 20 seconds in the microwave.

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

