Steamed Fish with Kiwis and Prunes

IMG_2807_zps3816cfd4

Steamed Fish with Kiwis and Prunes

I first saw this over at Ellena’s site where she cooked this dish as part of a Chinese meal at a gathering. Steamed fish is a dish commonly featured in Chinese cuisine, especially by those of Cantonese and Teochew descent. My mummy’s Teochew, so steamed fish has been part of our lives for as long as I can remember!

IMG_2802_zps7cfb0c24

I love steamed fish. For our family of 6, my mummy has to steam 2 whole fish to make sure we have enough to eat! Honestly though 2 fish ain’t enough. I mean you could finish an entire fish yourself couldn’t you?! My mummy typically prepares this dish by steaming fish in a water and soy sauce, sesame oil based sauce, with sliced mushrooms, ginger and tomatoes. An alternative would be steaming the fish in a stronger and darker soy sauce base, with lots of ginger and spring onions, aka scallions. That’s the only kinds of steamed fish I’ve ever been exposed to, and funnily I’ve never thought that other ways of preparation existed! Stupid me.

IMG_2813_zps87d92bcd

When I saw Ellena’s dish, I was mindblown. Literally. It was so frustratingly simple, yet so darn creative! And ohmygosh I LOVE kiwis! Her original recipe featured only prunes, but I adapted it slightly (as expected ahem) and added in slices of prunes and tomatoes cause I love em. Oh and wolfberries too 😀 what an ingenious way to incorporate 2 of my fave fruits into one of my fave dishes! So I ended up making this for lunch one day. Simple, healthy, and absolutely stunning. I used Toman fish, but of course any other white fish like snapper, halibut, trouts, soles, or even salmon, could be substituted in this recipe. Just use what you like! The kiwis and prunes gave the broth a slightly sweet and salty dimension, and the fruits themselves were marvellous: hot, soft and slightly sour.

I made this for my sister, myself and mama Liew. Sadly mama Liew didn’t love the dish cause she said having fruits in savoury foods is weird 😦 tsktsk typical traditional Chinese cook!

IMG_2817_zps0090f721

Ahhh words can’t describe how heavenly this dish was. You just gotta make it to understand.

Steamed Fish with Kiwis and Prunes (serves 1)
Recipe adapted from Ellena’s Steamed Fish with Kiwi

200g fish fillet
1/2 zespri kiwi, sliced
1/2 prune, sliced
1/4 tomato, sliced
1/4 teaspoon sesame oil
2 teaspoons cooking wine
4 Slices of ginger
1/2 Stall of Spring Onion (optional), cut into sections
Handful of wolfberries
Pepper
Some sliced chilli or chilli flakes

1. Clean and pat dry fish fillet, arrange it on steaming plate together with the rest of the ingredients.

2. Steam it over medium using stove or electrical steamer for about 12 minutes depending the thickness of the fish.

Tagged , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

