Chickpea Brownies: the BEST brownies I’ve EVER made

I’ve attempted brownies a few times already, and I just realised I haven’t posted about any of them as I’m looking for the links to post them here T.T oh wells anyway I’ve tried David Lebovitz’s Best Brownies, and a few others, and yes there were nice no doubt about that, but they weren’t it. There was always something about these brownies that didn’t hit the mark for me. As yall know, there are a few camps of brownie lovers. There’re fudgy brownies, gooey brownies, cakey brownies, fudgy cakey brownies, and chewy brownies. On my quest for my best brownie recipe, I’ve came across a gazillion sites teaching people how to achieve these different textures and consistencies. Some call for the manipulation of flour, rising agents, cocoa powder versus melted chocolate, mixing methods, number of eggs, etc. I found the easiest and most flexible method of getting the brownie that you love, was to simply adjust the baking time accordingly. Want fudgier brownies? Underbake them then refrigerate them! Want cakier brownies? Bake em slightly longer! Want gooey brownies? Underbake them and eat them straight from the pan! You get the drift.

IMG_2965_zps5cb42db2

Chickpea Brownies

I like my brownies to be somewhat dense, fudgy, yet cakey all the same. David’s brownies turned out too soft for me. So I refrigerated them and they became really fudgy, chewy ones, which my sisters adored, but I didn’t. Maybe cause living in Singapore, the only kinds of brownies I got when I was young were the highly processed sugar laden Famous Amos, Starbucks, ice cream shops kinda brownies. Those were the brownies I’d grown up withI’m still growing up with, and those are the ones I love. But seeing how we’re health conscious and all that, and I always make fat-free sugar-free adaptations to recipes, I’ve never found the one recipe that worked.

IMG_2962_zps722af826

Imagine my surprise when I made these last night and found them to be exactly what I wanted in a brownie!! Cakey, fudgy, and absolutely decadently chocolatey, these brownies were da bamb. I love them. That’s it. The quest for my fave brownies end here.

I was just joking. I’d still be trying out different recipes to see if they’re any out there that I’d love more than this. For now though this is definitely my to-go recipe!

IMG_2937_zps97e1d549

So this recipe uses chickpeas. The original called for black beans, but I didn’t have any on hand so I used chickpeas instead. And I guess that contributed to my brownies being just the way I like them. I imagine black beans would yield softer and moister brownies. Oh the fact that I don’t own a food processor probably contributed to this too. I had to mash and pound and smash those chickpeas BY HAND, using a mortar and pestle, for 15 friggin’ minutes till there were suitably mushed up to be used. Pfft. My poor poor aching arms. It’s worth it though cause these brownies were heavenly. The recipe’s pretty flexible on the beans side I guess, so you could replace the black beans with red beans, kidney beans, white beans or what-other beans you have on hand. I noticed a faint honey taste lingering at the back though, so I might add in a drop or two of vanilla the next time to mask that honey scent.

IMG_2947_zpsf6e80927

Chickpea Brownies (makes about 16 squares)
Recipe adapted from Dash Recipe’s Chocolate Cherry Fudge Brownies (whose link has mysteriously been removed)

12 oz (340g) chocolate, broken into chunks
3 tablespoons coconut oil, plus extra for greasing
1 (15 oz/420g) can of chickpeas, drained and rinsed thoroughly
3 flax eggs/normal eggs
1/2 cup honey
1/2 cup minus 2 tablespoon buckwheat flour
2 teaspoons baking powder
Handful of nuts, cherries, or any other toppings of your choice (optional)

1. Preheat the oven to 350F/180C. Grease a 9×9 inch pan.

2. Over a double boiler, melt the chocolate and the oil.

3. Mash up the chickpeas using the mortar and pestle till a fine flour-ish consistency is obtained. Mix in the melted chocolate and oil, then the eggs and honey. Sift in the flour and baking powder, then fold it in till just combined. Alternatively, pour the melted chocolate and oil into the food processor and process it with the remaining ingredients.

4. Pour the batter into the pan and place the toppings over if you are using. If flax eggs were used, bake them for approximately 50 minutes; if normal eggs were used, bake them for 30-35 minutes. Adjust the baking time accordingly to achieve the brownie texture you like best!

Tagged , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

