Chicken & Veggie Chili and Mussels with White Wine, Chili and Shallots

I’ve always always always wanted to try chili, but I can’t take beef. And well chili’s traditionally made with beef, so I never really trusted non-beef chili recipes. They always seemed rather dubious to me hmmm…

But of course curiosity got the better of moi! Chili just seemed too awfully tantalizing for me to resist! So when I chanced upon this amazing Turkey & Veggie Chili on foodgawker, I pounced at it! It doesn’t use beef, nor beer, nor large amounts of oil, and that pretty much means a pass by my standards (:

Photobucket

Chicken & Veggie Chili

Of course I seem to never be able to follow a recipe word for word. I always end up adapting and modifying it to suit myself. In the case of this innocent chili, that modification came in the form of wolfberries! Yes you heard me right. Wolfberries. In retrospect I really don’t know what I was thinking then! I imagine it was somewhere along the lines of “ohmygosh chili might be spicy and my sisters might not be able to take the spice so I shall add some wolfberries!” Or “since I don’t like to use salt in my food, wolfberries would boost the flavours by a whole bunch!” Or it could simply be “I love wolfberries, SO THERE.” If you need more justification for the use of wolfberries, these superfoods, aka Goji Berries, actually contains 50 times more vitamin C per ounce as compared to oranges. Other goodness includes vitamin E, Cyperone and Physalin.

Top 10 Benefits of Goji Berries
1. Inhibits tumor growth and improves disease resistance
2. Powerful anti-oxidant which extends life, and improves the memory
3. Neutralize the side effects of chemotherapy and radiation
4. Help normalize blood pressure and balance blood sugar
5. Stimulates secretion of human growth hormone, to feel and look younger
6. Lowers cholesterol, helps with weight
7. Enhance sexual functions and improves fertility
8. Supports liver, eyes, kidneys and strengthens muscles and bones
9. Relieves insomnia, headaches and alleviates anxiety and stress
10. The “Happy Berry” is known to promote cheerfulness and brightens the spirit

What better way to incorporate wolfberries into your diet than to add it to your chili? #random #absolutelynolink

Photobucket

I substituted the minced turkey for minced chicken cause it ain’t that easy to find minced/ground turkey in Singapore. The dish itself was wonderful, a hit with my entire family. And btw fyi they LOVED the addition of wolfberries. I conclude that imma genius. My only comment would be that there’re slightly too much beans, so the whole dish becomes a really beany and starchy dish. I might reduce the amount of beans by about a can the next time, and adjust the stock added accordingly. Other than that, this dish was mmmm yumz *thumbs up*

Photobucket

Mussels with White Wine, Chili and Shallots

I don’t really know why, but as I was planning dinner that day I thought that the big pot of chili wouldn’t be enough to feed 6 people *BREATHES*! Yesyes I know what’s going through your head right now, ohgosh that crazy insane woman how can a colossal pot of chili not be enough to feed 6 people?! If it really ain’t she could just up the ingredients and cook a bigger portion! I don’t know what overcame me that day but I was feeling super ambitious and adventurous! So I decided to try my hand at some white wine steamed mussels which I’ve been pretty interested in for awhile (:

IMG_2427_zps63302358Served with some country bread from Swissbake

And so we ended up with 2 amazing dishes that night.

Coincidentally I found that I was running out of white wine, so surprise surprise I ended up modifying the dish again, replacing some of the white wine with the frozen ‘stock’ cubes from my previous salmon salad. I guess I made the right choice, cause the resulting broth was a very flavourful and sweet one, with the wine being lightly detectable and not overwhelming.

Photobucket

Though this is my first attempt at making white wine steamed mussels, I don’t think I’d ever take a chance at another recipe, cause this works simply perfect for me.

Chicken & Veggie Chili (serves 7)
Recipe adapted from Snixy Kitchen’s Healthy turkey and veggie chili

1 1/2 teaspoons olive oil
500g minced chicken
1 can kidney beans, drained and rinsed
1 can black beans, drained and rinsed
1 can pinto beans, drained and rinsed
1 red bell pepper, chopped small
1 yellow onion, chopped small
1 28-ounce can crushed tomatoes
5 garlic cloves, minced
2 cups water
1 1/2 teaspoons cumin
1 teaspoon unsweetened cocoa powder
1/2 teaspoon garlic powder
2 tablespoons chili powder
1/2 teaspoon paprika
3/4 teaspoon dried oregano
1/2 teaspoon ground cayenne pepper
1/2-3/4 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon ground black pepper
2 teaspoons reduced sodium soy sauce
1/2 cup wolfberries, rinsed

1. Heat the oil in a large heavy bottom pot over medium heat.

2. Add the turkey and cook until browned, stirring to break it up as it cooks.

3. Add the onion, red bell pepper, and garlic, and cook for a few minutes, stirring, until tender.

4. Mix in canned tomatoes, beans, and spices. Add the water and stir to combine. Bring the chili to a boil, then reduce heat to low and simmer covered for about 30 minutes until the chili thickens. Throw in the wolfberries just a few minutes before taking the chili off heat.

5. Ladle into bowls and serve with some bread!

White Wine, Chili and Shallots (serves 7)
Recipe adapted from Vessy’s Day

2 kg mussels with the shells
2 onions (shallots) – cut into small pieces
1 red pepper, diced
5 cloves garlic, minced
200 ml. chili sauce (I don’t have chili sauce, so I mixed 185ml of tomato puree with 15ml of tobasco)
1/4 cup parsley, chopped
1 glass white wine
1 cup stock
3 tablespoons olive oil
1 teaspoon dried thyme
Pinch of red pepper flakes
salt & pepper

1. Heat a deep sauté pan, wok, or medium pot (whatever you use, make sure you have a lid for it) over medium-high heat.

2. Since mussels double their volume, probably you will cook them on parts. I used a huge wok so I was able to cook them all at one shot!

3. Heat the olive oil. Add the shallots, garlic, peppers and spices and cook until golden brown. Add the chili sauce and cook for another minute. Add the white wine and wait until heated up. Add the mussels, stir everything and put the lid on. Cook until mussels open (about 5-7 mins), as stirring occasionally.

4. Repeat the same for all of the mussels if you’re cooking in batches.

5. Serve and eat immediately!

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

