Lunches on my own: Warm Tea-Poached Salmon Salad

School’s started for ’bout 3 months already, and that’s making it really hard for me to post about anything I’ve made! My past 3 months have been a mad rush to complete readings and chapters ahead of lectures and tutorials. Me taking extremely content heavy subjects ain’t helping either. In fact my sociology text is sitting in front of me as I’m typing, screaming “WHY AREN’T YOU READING ME NOW? THIS VERY SECOND?” Oh gosh the guilt’s catching up now D:

One thing school’s not been keeping me from doing though, is cooking. I’ve been cooking lunch for myself nearly twice a week, and that means there’re a looooot of posts for me to catch up on! Haven’t had enough time to bake though and that’s something that’s been nagging at me for quite awhile. Cooking just ain’t the same if sweets ain’t involved. Pinterest isn’t helping either, what with all the delectable mouth-watering drool-inducing fall desserts trending right now. And EVERYONE knows I love pumpkins. And apples. Which are being featured in like every other dessert recipe from foodgawker to pinterest. Just kill me already.

So for the past week I’ve been making really simple lunches! Why? CAUSE I NEEDA DETOX AND LOSE WEIGHT. Mooncakes and I have this really unhealthy love-hate relationship. First, I binge on mooncakes like crazy for about a month, then get really depressed about it, start crying all over my empty mooncake boxes, and promise myself to go on a sugar free detox diet for about 2 weeks. That’s before I visit more mooncake fairs and empty my wallets on them. The cycle repeats itself for about a month. Oh mooncakes how I hate you so.

IMG_1437_zpsb290a222

 

Warm salmon salad: green tea poached salmon, with roasted garlic, broccoli, long beans, and a lemon tahini dressing

This was one of the things I made for lunch that day. It was quite a random dish actually! I was on foodgawker (as usual) and I saw this salmon soba dish. Then I remembered hey, I have this huge chunk of salmon in my fridge! Totally the time to try something new. I wasn’t all that on to it though, till I glanced at the recipe and saw “3 green tea teabags”. I’ve heard about poaching food in tea before, but I’ve never really looked for a recipe that did that. Well we all know I love matcha = green tea, so those 4 words were like an auctioneer’s “SOLD” to me.

Calling this recipe awesome is doing it a disservice. Cause it’s pretty darn freaking awesome. The dressing was healthy, light, creamy, and it complemented the roasted vegetables perfectly. The roasted veggies themselves were heavenly. I adapted the original recipe, adding in an extra 2 cloves of garlic (cause I absolutely Turkey and Veggie Chili I’ll post about pretty soon (:

Meanwhile do give the recipe a try! If you don’t love it, YOU’RE NOT NORMAL.

IMG_1438_zpsecc67e0a

Warm Tea-poached Salmon Salad (serves 2)
Recipe adapted from turntablekitchen.com’s Soba Bowls with Tea-Poached Salmon

500-600g of skin-on salmon fillet
3 tablespoons of toasted sesame oil
2 tablespoons of tahini
2 tablespoons of honey
1 lime, juiced and zested
3 tablespoons of soy sauce
2 inch piece of fresh ginger, peeled and finely grated
1 bunch of broccoli
A handful of long beans, about 4-5 stalks
2 tablespoons of coconut oil
3 cloves of garlic, minced
sea salt, to taste
1 tablespoon of black peppercorns
3 bags of green tea
1/2 cup of mirin
Some sesame seeds to serve (optional)

1. Preheat your oven to 210 degrees C.

2. Whisk together the sesame oil, tahini, honey, lime juice, lime zest, and ginger in a small bowl, until you have a smooth sauce.

3. Trim the broccoli, cutting the bunch into bite-sized florets. Throw out any large, woodsy stalks. Cut the stalks of long beans into smaller pieces, about 2 inches each. Toss the broccoli, long beans, garlic, coconut oil and salt in a bowl. Transfer the veggies to a rimmed baking sheet and roast for 15 minutes.

4. Add 1 cup of water to a medium saucepan and bring it to a gentle simmer. Turn the heat down the low. Add the teabags and peppercorns. Once the water has been infused with the tea (about three minutes) remove the tea bags and add the mirin to the poaching liquid.

5. Slip the salmon, skin side down, into the poaching liquid. Cover the saucepan and cook the salmon for about 8-10 minutes, or until it is just barely cooked through.

6. Transfer the salmon to a plate and use a fork to flake it into bite-sized pieces.

8. If any broccoli pieces seem too big, cut them into smaller pieces and add them to the salmon. Toss the veggies and salmon together, then pour in the dressing and toss to coat. Sprinkle the sesame seeds over if using and serve the salad warm.

Tagged , ,

One thought on “Lunches on my own: Warm Tea-Poached Salmon Salad

  1. […] again, replacing some of the white wine with the frozen ‘stock’ cubes from my previous salmon salad. I guess I made the right choice, cause the resulting broth was a very flavourful and sweet one, […]

Leave a Reply

