First ever Homemade Granola!

The previous post on my ‘tau sar’ paus are actually a prelude to my Mothers’ Day’s post, but those photos ain’t done with being editted yet so I’ll just clear out my drafts folder meanwhile!

I made this skillet granola some 1-2 months back. It was the first granola recipe I’ve ever tried, chosen cause 1. it’s being made on a skillet, which means no need for me to lug out small ol’ convection; and 2. it’s made within 5 minutes and I don’t need to constantly shake the baking pan or something. I had a real bad craving for granola then, so this recipe really screamed at me for all its relative ease and quick preparation! Oh oh wait! There’s a third: it can be made in small portions, meaning I won’t waste much if this fails *punches air*!

The third consideration was obviously redundant, cause I ended up with too little granola. It was so damn friggin’ delicious my family finished it within a day, and they’ve been bugging me to remake it for them! I haven’t though cause I’m too lazy to, and I have too many recipes in line waiting to be tested out. I don’t know how oven granola tastes like, but I’m happy to say that this will more than suffice. Unless I’m suddenly overcome with an urge to exercise and grab my oven, this recipe will be my go-to granola recipe.

Crunchy and not overly sweet, this granola made my family become granola converts. Bye honey stars, hello skillet granola!

Skillet Granola
Adapted from Julie’s Quick Skillet Granola

1 Cup oats
1/4 Cup sesame seeds (White sesame seeds were called for, but I didn’t have them so I made do with black!)
1 tablespoon butter
2 tablespoon honey/maple syrup
Pinch salt (optional)
Dash of cinnamon
Handful of dried fruits and nuts (optional – I used raisins and cranberries)

1. Melt the butter and honey in a cast iron pan over medium-high heat.

2. Add the sesame seeds and cook them for 2 minutes. Throw in the oats and cook the mixture for another 3-4 minutes, stirring in the fruits and nuts just as the oats are starting to brown.

3. Take the pan off the heat, let the mixture cool down, then break up big clumps and store the granola in an air-tight container.

Tagged ,

Leave a Reply

