Banana Muffins

So awhile ago – like half-a-year-awhile-ago – I tried some awesome banana walnut muffins from Spinellis, and since then I’ve copied gazillion Banana Muffin recipes…but never got around to making them! I was kinda afraid of baking with bananas. Like, what if it turned out mushy and yucky and reeeeeally gross?

Lucky for my sisters, I’ve recently been on a banana streak. I loved banana ice cream, banana cupcakes, banana crumbles, and all things banana!! Except for the fruit itself weird me! So I finally plucked up the courage to make try some of these amazing banana muffin recipes I copied! And I started with the one from allrecipes (:

Why did I say lucky for my sisters? Cause I converted them into banana-sweets fanatics. These muffins were darlings. Like urgh *melts* moist, EXTREMELY fluffy, and obviously banana! The banana taste was not overwhelming, yet it was detectable, and there were little chunks of banana in the muffins that I absolutely loved.

I guess the trick to getting such wonderful banana muffins lies in using really riped bananas, so much as to the point of being over-riped. I forgot where I heard about it, but I decided to give it a try. I bought a bunch of bananas and left it outside for about 3-4 days, till its skin was turning black-ish, then I peeled and mashed em up like boiled potatoes. By then they were really mushy and soft, so it was really easy to mash them and incorporate them into the batter. There wouldn’t be any really big chunks of hard bananas in the muffins then!

My sisters loved this so much, they brought a muffin each to school the next day, came home for a few more, and polished off the entire container of muffins by the end of the day 😀 I’ve got them so intersted in banana muffins, they just asked me to make some. Literally just. Tried out another of the banana recipes, and I’ve found another winner! But that’s a story for another day (: YAY ME!

Banana Muffins (makes 12)
Adapted from Banana Muffin II

1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
3 large bananas, mashed
1/4 cup white sugar
1/4 cup brown sugar
1 egg
1/3 cup butter, melted

1. Preheat oven to 175. Coat muffin pans with non-stick spray, or use paper liners. Sift together the flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt; set aside.

2. Combine bananas, sugars, egg, and melted butter in a large bowl.

3. Make a well in the bowl holding the dry ingredients, then pour in the wet ingredients. Fold it into flour mixture, and mix until just combined, taking care not to overmix. Scoop into muffin pans.

4. Bake mini muffins for 10 to 15 minutes, and large muffins for 25 to 30 minutes. Muffins will spring back when lightly tapped.

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

