Tomato GALETTE, and a Lemon and Chicken Soup

I’m sorry I couldn’t resist it! I just HAD to capitalize the “galette” again. The tart-galette argument’s too firmly etched in my mind right now!

I made this about two weeks back, the day after I made my ugly-looking-but-awesome-tasting apple frangipane galette. No really, I was so upset at how it looked, I decided to make one for lunch the next day to give myself some dough pleating practice!

Of course “a tart on its own could hardly be passed for lunch” so said my mama. So I ended up cooking the tomato galette, together with a lemon and chicken soup. This idea actually came from Helene’s posts over at Tartelette. Her beautiful galette and soup really made me want to cook them. I guess the way food looks is really as important as it tastes huh?

Somehow the galette looked better unbaked than baked? At least this time the pleats came out ok and the tart actually made it out of the oven in one piece!! Without any leaky filling bits 😀 oh but wait, slice into it slowly…

And watch it leak oozy goodness. It was ohmygosh really delicious! The tomatoes were really sweet, I loved that slightly dried, roasted flavour and texture. Helene used heirloom tomatoes, and her galette came out looking really colourful and pretty. Sadly it’s kinda hard to find such pretty tomatoes in Singapore at a short notice! So I could only settle for the regular red ones. Hopefully I’d get to try heirloom the next round! But really, the thing that stood out was the filling. Helene’s recipe initially called for ricotta cheese. Unlucky (or lucky…?) for me, all the nearby supermarkets ran out of it at the same time. What a coincidence eh? Opened my refrigerator, and I found some goats cheese, shredded mozzarella, and a tub of yogurt. So I ended up making a mixture of those 3, some pepper and a load of minced garlice. I was a little afriad it’ll turn out inedible because of my inclusion of yogurt, it being a tad sour and all that. Well ‘fraid not! It was awesome! My family loves garlic, so I threw in 3 cloves of minced garlic as opposed to the 1 clove called for in the recipe. And it worked for us! The saltiness of the goats cheese and the shredded mozzarella was balanced by the sour yogurt, and the garlic added a nice smoke-ish kick behind it all. Ahhh…

Before you start to think that it’s just all about the filling, the tart crust itself was wonderful. I used rye flour instead of the GF flour mix or common all-purpose flour suggested in the recipe. I felt that that brought such rustic crusts to a whole new level. The nutty, earthy flavours were very prominent and I was really glad I chose to use rye!

Something went wrong with my editting programme so this pic’s really dark! 😦

We had the soup while the tart was being baked. I realised I that my estimation skills must suck a bunch, cause I made too little of that galette, while making too much soup. There was so much left I had it for dinner the same day, with a handful of farfelle thrown in.

Never knew Fauchon sold such products and that we could buy them in Singapore! So pretty I almost couldn’t bear to eat them ❤ almost. 

The soup was everything I thought it’d be – light, refreshing, and simple. Simple is the word. A simply lunch of clear soup and tomato galette. So french!

Tomato Galette (serves 4)
Adapted from Helene’s Heirloom Tomato Galette

Pie Crust
1 1/4 cup rye flour (refer to Helene’s recipe for the GF option!)
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon dried oregano
110 g cold butter, diced
1/4 cup icy cold water

Filling
3 cloves garlic, minced
1 1/2 cups mixture of mozzarella, goats cheese and plain yogurt (or 1 cup ricotta as called for in the original recipe)
1 tablespoon oregano
Pepper

Topping
3-4 tomatoes, sliced
1 tablespoon parmesan
2 teaspoon olive oil

For the crust:
1. In the bowl of a food processor, (or follow the same instructions if doing by hand), pulse together the flour, salt and oregano until incorporated. Add the butter and pulse (or cut in if by hand) until the butter resembles small peas and is evenly incorporated.

2. Gradually, stream in the cold water until the flour just comes together. Turn the mixture out onto your work surface and form into a 2-inch thick, round disk. Wrap with plastic wrap and refrigerate at least 30 minutes (or overnight) before rolling out.

3. Preheat the oven to 180C and position a rack in the center.

For the filling:
1. In a large bowl, mix all the ingredients together and keep refrigerated until ready to use.

2. Slice the tomatoes and spread them out on layers of paper towels to drain some of their moisture out while you roll out the pastry.

Assembling:
1. On a large surface area, well floured, roll out the pastry dough to a 10-inch circle, spread the filling but not all the way to the edge. Leave a 2-inch border of pastry all around.

2. Layer the tomatoes on top. Gather the edges of the pastry dough, pleating as you go with your fingertips. Sprinkle the tomatoes with parmesan.

3. Bake for about 40 to 50 minutes. Let cool slightly, drizzle with the olive oil, some more oregano and serve.

Lemon and chicken soup (serves 7-8)
Adapted from Helene’s Lemon, Chicken & Orzo Soup

2 teaspoons olive oil
1 medium carrot, peeled and cut into fine matchsticks (or diced)
1 small celery stalk, diced
1 small onion, finely chopped
6 ounces boneless, skinless chicken breast
1/2 cup roughly chopped fresh spinach
1 teaspoon chopped fresh oregano
2 tablespoons peppercorns
8 cups chicken broth (or water if you prefer)
Zest and juice of a lemon

1. In a large pot, heat the olive oil over medium heat and add the carrot, celery and onion pieces. Cook for about 3 minutes, stirring occasionally.

2. Add the chicken breast, the spinach, oregano, broth, peppercorns and season with salt. Cover and bring to a boil. Reduce the heat to low and simmer.

3. Remove the chicken breast from the soup. Let cool enough to handle and shred it into pieces. Return the shredded meat to the pot. Add the lemon juice and zest, stir and serve.

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

