Pizzeria Mozza

Pizzeria Mozza’s been on my to-try list for the past year, actually since Marina Bay Sands opened. My parents and I have been there a few times, without reservations, trying our luck at getting a table. Ahhhh but sadly it was to no avail. Then it was sorta just shoved to the back of my mind. Until I received my copy of Osteria Mozza’s cookbook!!! The recipes there were so-absolutely enticing! Especially the pizzas ohmygosh they looked so heavenly! And that was when Pizzeria Mozza was pushed up the list.

I finally went there with my mum sometime last December. We were the first to arrive, cause once again we didn’t make a reservation so we had to get there early to secure a table. We were given tables at the side, with an open-view kinda concept, which was totally awesome since there’s lotsa natural lighting. There are counter tables available too if you’d like, and those would have been my pick if not for the photography considerations.

Don’t ya just love the way the tables are set? I think it’s so adorable the way they put the cutlery in those envelopes! It feels so special and exclusive to open those little brown packages. I thought that was a really interesting idea (:

Moving on to the menu: Pizzeria Mozza offers an array of antipastis, salads, and other courses. There are both classic dishes like the grilled calamari, Proscuitto di Parma Bufala Mozzarella, and mushroom salad. But what impressed me was that they serve many other dishes that are often considered as traditional French/Italian dishes, yet sadly do not make an appearance in local French/Italian restaurants. Dishes such as Fried squash blossoms with ricotta, Chicken Cacciatore, and even paninis are offered there. That really excites me! The idea of finally trying these traditinal/classic dishes that have been much raved about by homecooks and professional chefs alike got me so hyped up…until I looked at the prices. Damn.

Calamari al forno with fagioli & oregano, $18

My mum’s not very adventurous, so we decided on a ‘safe’ appetiser. The dish was well executed, and to be honest I was wow-ed. I was expecting a simple plain ole’ calamari, hopefully grilled to perfection, and probably drizzled with a bit of olive oil and sprinkled with coarse salt. You can imagine my surprise when I saw the addition of chickpeas and a generous sprinkling of dried herb into the dish. There was a slight tang in the dish, which I suspect might have been a squeeze of lemon juice. The combination of flavours and textures in this dishes was simply astounding, and it was so original and unique. Both my mum and I loved it. For that 2 rings of squid to cost that much though was unacceptable by me.

We ordered their mushroom salad to share too. Perfectly dressed, heaping pile of crisp fresh rucola, raw portobello mushrooms – it was not anything exceptional. Once again I felt that the the steep $18 was not justified, even if the portion were slightly bigger.

Prosciutto di Parma, rucola, tomato & mozzarella, $31

Now the place’s not called Pizzeria Mozza for no reason. Though not extremely long, their pizza menu is a combination of classic Italian pizzas, and unique, mouthwatering combinations like the Fresh goat cheese, leeks, scallions, garlic & bacon pizza, or the Salumi piccante, mozzarella, tomato & Fresno chiles pizza. Though I would have liked to try the more unique pizzas, my mum’s a proscuitto feind. Just like how I’m a matcha fiend. And it was a choice between that, or a Margherita. Oh well proscuitto it is!

Pizza heaven. Yep that pretty much sums it up. The crust was thin, crisp, yet soft and soggy at the correct places. I love it when pizza crusts have that obvious layer of cornmeal that lingers on your finger and your tongue after biting into it, and this pizza had that. Awesome. The proscuitto was so fresh and melt-in-your-tongue-ish, totally unlike the previous one I had at 1-Caramel. Most importantly the proportion of proscuitto to rucola was just right. There was enough veges and meat on every slice, in every bite. So in short it was just perfect. If I ignore the price of course. Gorgeous pizza at a ‘gorgeous’ price. Big eaters might want to take note that this extremely wonderfully expensive pizza comes in just 4 slices.

If you’re looking for an expensive, atas place to go for pizza, or if you want to try something slightly different from the usual fare offered at local French/Italian restaurants, then yes Pizzeria Mozza’s the place for you. But if you want great but affordable pizzas, then you might want to head over to Pepperoni’s instead!

Pizzeria Mozza
10 Bayfront Avenue
Singapore 018956
+65 6688 8522

Tagged

Leave a Reply

