Matcha White Chocolate Brownies with Cranberries

If you guys realised, mug cakes were suddenly trending a few months back! The moment I set my eyes on the first ever mug cake was just love at first sight. Few ingredients, no mixer, a mug and a spoon, and ready in just 10 minutes? Sounds perfect to a lazy pig like me!

The thing about mug cakes though, is that they are made in microwaves. I don’t have a microwave though so that was a big problem for me. But when there’s a will, there’s a way!! The idea of a mug cake was simply too enticing, so I went around looking for a way to make em in my oven. Which in a way defeats the purpose of a mug cake since making it in 10 minutes would be kinda impossible. Oh wells.

 class=

I don’t know where or how I figured out the temperature and baking time when using an oven to substitute the microwave, but it was obviously wrong cause the final product was hard, dry, totally dense, and just urgh in all.

 class=

Whoever said not to judge a book by it’s cover obviously never saw my rendition of a mug cake. Really, it just looks bad.

Luckily the Matcha White Chocolate Brownies weren’t an epic phail! On the contrary, they were very much the opposite! If you’d read my previous posts you’d know I’m pretty much a matcha fiend. And who doesn’t like brownies? So I’ve been DYING to try out some matcha brownies’ recipes I hunted down quite some time back! My previous matcha brownie attempt was rather successful, and my family heart-ed it. But it just wasn’t…there. There was something missing. It just lacked that BOOMZ factor.

Then I thought: could it be because of the white chocolate?

While I was looking for such recipes, I realised that most matcha brownie recipes call for white chocolate. I never liked (and probably never will like) white chocolate, and that made me rethink the idea of making matcha brownies. And it was really annoying how they never ever include the words “white chocolate” in the names of their recipes! Such a scam! It was because Tsktsk but in the end my love for matcha prevailed, and I decided to give those nasty little chocolates a chance.

And suprisingly these babies turned out good! Like pretty darn awesome! Could’ve been a little less sweet, but I guess it’s kinda expected cause of the white chocolate.

I threw in a handful of cranberries. That gave these brownies a slight tartness that was welcomed imho. I also increased the amount of matcha called for in the original recipe, cause I always find the matcha flavour to be lacking in matcha goodies. And it was soooo there this time round yay!!! *applauds* so I guess I’d make these brownies again, but probably after I’ve tried all the other recipes lined up 😀

Matcha White Chocolate Brownies

45g white chocolate
20g unsalted butter
1/3 large egg
12g sugar
20g flour
5g matcha powder (original recipe called for 3-4g)
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
20g roasted nuts (optional)

1. Preheat oven to 180C.

2. Melt butter together with the chocolates over a double boiler, then let it cool down for awhile. Stir in eggs and sugar and mix well. Sift in flours and mixx well. Fold in 2/3 of the nuts last.

3. Pour the batter into a greased and line pan, then sprinkle the remaining nuts over. Bake for about 15 minutes, or until an inserted toothpick comes out clean.

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

