Chocolate Hazelnut (stacked) Sheet Cake

I’m lazy; I procrastinate. A lot.

OK I’M AWARE OF THAT.

So this post’s been sitting here for the past…few months.

Anyway it’s regarding this sheet cake thingy that I baked quite some time back, like last December ohmygosh. I was feeling uber chocolatey + bake-ish that day, but I was also feeling extremely lazy. So I decided to gather my troops (i.e. my 3 very excited sisters) and bake us a simple chocolate sheet cake!

It was actually my first time lining my cake pans with parchment paper! Boy oh boy it does make a difference. It was so much easier to get the cake out from the pan, and the edges of the cake looked neat and defined unlike when I had to use my spatula and scrap and scratch and dig out the cake.

See how neat it looks?

After snacking on one or two squares (more like 10), I remembered that I still had some chocolate glazing ganache sitting in the fridge! So I heated em up, crushed some baked hazelnuts, throw em together…

…and got meself some nice dessert that night (:

Chocolate-hazelnut Stacked Cake

Adapted from Australian Women’s Weekly Allergy-free Choc-hazelnut Slice

Cake
90g unsalted butter
90g firmly packed brown sugar
2 eggs
60ml milk
75g hazelnut meal
100g self-raising flour
3 tablespoons cocoa powder

1/2 portion Chocolate Glazing Ganache

Some baked hazelnuts, crushed (I crushed about 1 cup for this)

1. Preheat oven to 180C. Grease and line shallow 22cm-square cake pan with baking paper,  extending paper 5cm over edges.

2. Cream butter and sugar till pale, then beat in eggs one at a time, pausing to make sure it’s been combined before adding another. Stir in milk, hazelnut meal, then sift in flour and cocoa powder in two batches.

3. Spread mixture into pan and bake for 20 minutes. Let cake stand in pan 10 minutes before turning onto the wire rack to cool completely.

 

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

