Roasted Brussel Sprouts

I’ve decided that I’ll only be posting recipes of stuff I’ve made since I’ve gotten my DSLR, cause the photos before that are absolutely ghastly. In the end, there’s no use having absolutely mouth watering recipes if the photos accompanying them are not worthy of being seen! So I guess I’ll just post about those passable ones, and maybe remake those with horrid photos another time. Anyways it’s just as well since I’m really behind my updating schedule! Too many things to post about!

And yes, it’s roasted brussel sprouts today! “Heh? Brussel Sprouts?” Oh yeah, brussel sprouts. While these may seem like common everyday food to some, we Asians don’t really incorporate this amazing veggie into our dishes. I’ve been hearing so much about them! So when I saw a few packets lying on the shelves of FairPrice Finest, I dashed for it. Literally. It was a grab-first-then-decide-what-to-do moment.

Of course the next thing to do would be to google for some amazing recipes. Most of the highly rated ones featured ingredients such as bacon. Sadly I’m not really a fan of bacon! One particular idea caught my eye though: adding a splash of balsamic vinegar while roasting them. AHA! I went along with that idea, played around with it, and ended up with a roasted brussel sprout side that was devoured by my family in no time (: SUCCESS!!!

Enjoyed these with some random stuff I found in my fridge (:

Basic Roasted Brussel Sprouts

Brussel Sprouts
Balsamic Vinegar
Salt and Pepper
Olive Oil

1. Preheat oven to 225C.

2. Rinse the sprouts, halve (or even quarter) them and place them in a bowl. Pour some olive oil over and gently toss to coat. Season with salt and pepper, then add a few splashes of vinegar.

3. Pour the contents of the bowl onto your baking tray/sheet and roast for 20 minutes or so till the sprouts are brown and tender. Stir once or twice while roasting to ensure even roasting.

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

