A looooong holiday

‘Tis been a long time since I last posted! I’ve been busy with my internship, CNY preparations, family holidays and all that. But one thing’s for sure: I’m still an extremely active foodie. Take a look at my to-do list during my family vacation and you’ll see. We were going to Paris! And while everyone (yes EVERYONE) were busy shopping for clothes and branded goods, I was busy hunting down Eric Kayser, Pierre Herme, Lauduree and all that! My parents were pretty peeved cause I kept bugging them to let me explore Paris alone. I didn’t get to do so in the end, but I did manage to find some pretty amazing patisseries and boulangeries! Paris photos will be up in the next post! (:

Meanwhile, I’ll continue updating about the stuff I’ve made a long time ago!

I’ve been rather interested in souffles quite some time ago, cause I kept hearing professional chefs talking about how hard it was to get a great souffle, how dangerous it was, how souffles are temperamental and don’t rise well, blah etc. Yet the 2 souffles that I’ve made before were (by my not-very-high-standards) successes! So I was really quite befuddled.

When I saw this recipe on Julie’s blog, I was sold. I was like the walking dead, mechanically rushing through my daily routine just so I could go home and bake these beauties.

Finally, I ended up with something that looked like this:

Not a smooth top, but at least it satisfied three criterions:
1) It rose.
2) The top was browned.
3) Air bubbles and pockets were visible = it’s not dense! Which thus explains the 1st criterion, and is therefore kinda the same xD

Taste-wise, I wasn’t that happy with it cause I thought the berries flavour wasn’t prominent enough. And I was quite sad that my souffles didn’t turn out as purple as Julia’s 😦 even though I added much much MUCH more jam as compared to the amounts called for in her recipe. Makes me wonder if she added some food colouring in her souffles o.o mine turned out with a consistency somewhat between solid foam and cooked egg whites, fluffy and airy. I don’t really know if that’s supposed to be the way non-chocolate souffles taste like since I’ve never tried one, but my tummy definitely enjoyed this souffle! So did my sisters’!

One thing’s for sure: I’ll definitely be making more souffles to experiment with in the near future! 😀

4 Ingredient Berry Souffles (serves 3)
Adapted from Julie’s 4 Ingredient Berry Souffles

1 tablespoon butter or vegetable oil
4 egg whites
1/3 cup caster sugar
1/2 cup berry jam
semi whipped cream, to serve

1. Preheat your oven to 200C. Grease 3 x 1 cup ramekins or teacups with the butter or oil and place to one side.

2. In a clean dry bowl place the egg whites and a pinch of salt. Whisk using your muscles or a stand mixer until the mixture looks like soft marshmallow. Gradually whisk in sugar a little at a time until it is all incorporated and the mixture is smooth and glossy.

3. Fold through 1/3C jam then taste. Adding more jam if you think it needs a more sweetness and/or colour. Divide mixture between the prepared dishes then use a knife to level them off. You’ll have some left over but better to have each dish full than have stingy souffles.

4. Bake souffles for 8 minutes then reduce the heat and bake for another 5 minutes until souffles are risen and lightly golden on top.

5. Serve immediately with cream passed separately.

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

