Basic Dipping Bread

I’ve been kinda AWOL for awhile cause the holidays has started! 😀 haha I was too busy with prom, shopping, holiday trips, eating, and all that stuff to blog! Now everything’s starting to slow down cause school’s starting and all, so I’ve got some time to take a breath and return to blogging (:

I made this bread some 3-4 months back, but I can still remember how wonderful my house smelt while it was proofing, and how much better it was after the bread was baked. I would like to say the same about the texture of the bread though >< it was definitely significantly better than the previous bread I baked cause I’ve let the dough hook work it’s magic a lil’ longer, however it’s still not as soft as I would have liked it, and it definitely got harder after spending one night on my kitchen counter. Hmm bad. Gotta find a way to make bread that is soft and STAYS soft.

Honestly I could fall in love with this bread just because of how beautifully it rose! Sounds kinda noob and stuff, but this IS the second time I’ve ever made bread! And for it to have risen so successfully was just a major wow for me!

Despite falling short in terms of texture, this bread definitely rocked flavour-wise. So I guess I’ll be back, trying to perfect this recipe!

Basic Dipping Bread (makes 4 small loaves)

1 tablespoon active dry yeast
1 tablespoon sugar
1 cup warm water
2 1/2 cup flour, separated
1 teaspoon salt
3 tablespoon fresh rosemary
2 tablespoon butter, melted
sea salt

1. Combine yeast, sugar and water in a large bowl and let it bubble for 5-10 minutes.

2. Add 2 cups of flour, salt and the seasonings. Turn it out onto a floured surface and knead for 10 minutes, adding additional flour as necessary.

3. Place the dough ball in an oiled bowl, cover with a wet towel and let it rise in a warm place till doubled (about an hour).

4. Punch the dough down and divide it into 4. Let the dough rest for 5 minutes.

5. Shape the dough and place on a greased baking sheet, or in loaf tins like me. Brush the dough with the melted butter and any additional seasonings. Let rise for another 25 minutes, then sprinkle with sea salt just before baking. Bake at 200C for 12-16 till golden.

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

