Things we cooked in the past months, and an Eggs en Cocotte recipe

The thing about my family is that my mum cooks every weekday night, and she’s very adventurous in her cooking, so I always have like these stacks and stacks of photos (figuratively of course) accumulated over months, that have not been posted about! I decided to just make a photo collage of some stuff my mum made. Since she cooks by feel and taste, I have no exact recipe for the dishes that she cooked, just the basic ingredients. I, on the other hand, am not pro enough to cook dishes of such high complexity. So what I make is usually some chapalang of techniques and recipes I’ve tried or read before.

What my mum cooked (top to bottom; left to right): Yong tau foo with fermented soy beans; Steamed fish with soy sauce, sesame oil, tomatoes and ginger; Broccoli with mushrooms and hokkaido dried scallops; Roasted char siew; Broccoli, carrots, mushrooms and fishcakes; Wonton noodles; Assam fish; Silken tofu with vegetarian minced mushrooms and mock meat; Chicken rice with roast pork (shao rou); Roast pork (shao rou); San bei ji; Chicken with button mushrooms and chinese spring onions in dark sauce and sesame oil; Dao qie mian in carrot and potato pork ribs soup; Hor fun; Vegetarian fish maw with vegetables; Assam squid

What I’ve made (top to bottom; left to right): Chapalang tomato pasta; Pasta with seared scallops, cherry tomatoes, meatballs and basil in tomato sauce (yes super chapalang I told you!); Waffles with hot blueberry sauce; Eggs not-benedict; Mushrooms and mesclun salad with citrus vinaigrette and shaved parmesan; Squash and sweet potato soup with poached salmon; Minestrone soup; Vegan vanilla cupcakes with nutella cream cheese frosting; Orange madeleines and mini chocolate cakes (for Teachers’ Day); Chocolate apple sauce cupcakes with nutella cream cheese frosting; Eggs royale.

Yes I know what I’ve made seems to be significantly lesser than my mum’s! Fear not! This is not the end of the list! Haha these are just what I’ve cooked without the help of recipes! So there’s still much much much more where that came from.

This, however, I have a recipe for! Haha I was really just into making some baked eggs after my visit to Hatched so I went searching for some good Eggs en Cocotte recipes. I’ve read Bea’s recipes before, and thought them to look really delicious. However I’m not exactly fond of using cream in my savoury dishes. Finally I found 101 Cookbook’s Baked Eggs, which I thought were really appetizing interesting! Instead of baking them in ramekins like people usually do, she did hers in some pita breads which made me went like woah

So I adapted her recipe for lunch one day, and made my very first Eggs en Cocotte (:

Eggs en Cocotte (makes 6 egg cups)
Recipe adapted from 101 Cookbook’s Baked Eggs Recipe

2-3 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil
3 big pinches ground cumin
2 big pinches chili flakes
2 big pinches smoked paprika
2 big pinches fine sea salt
1 cup spring (or regular) onion, chopped
2 leeks, chopped
1 clove garlic, chopped
1 cup cherry tomatoes, halved or quartered
6 tortilla wraps
6 large eggs
Some shredded cheddar

Special equipment: standard muffin tin

1. Preheat oven to 180C degrees.

2. Add the olive oil to a large skillet over medium-high heat. Stir in the cumin, chile flakes, paprika, salt, onion, leeks and garlic. Cook until onions soften, just a minute or two. Stir in the chopped tomatoes and cook until the tomatoes soften up a bit, another two or three minutes. Set aside.

3. Take the tortilla wraps, and gently press each to fit into each slot of your muffin tin. If the pita splits, no worries, just cut the excess of the wraps that poke out from the top, and press them to the bottom to form a nest or tart shell of sorts so there is coverage across the bottom so the egg and filling won’t run out.

4. Spoon a bit of the tomato filling into each pita cup, dividing it amongst the six cups. Now crack a single egg into each pita cup. You don’t want the cups to overflow, so hold back a bit of the egg white if you need to. Also, you don’t want the egg yolk to jet up toward the sky, try to ensure it is level with the whites or the yolks can dry out while baking. Sprinkle some shredded cheddar over the eggs.

5. Carefully place in the oven (racks in the center) and bake for about 15-20 minutes until the whites have set and become opaque. Mine took slightly over 20 minutes. Serve hot garnished with a dash of pepper.

Tagged ,

Leave a Reply

