Super Belated Mid Autumn Festival Post!

I just edited the title that originally said “Super Belated Mooncake Festival Post!” It’s so easy to forget that its actually called Mid Autumn Festival when it all revolves around mooncakes and lanterns!

I have to say that this is probably one of my favourite Chinese festivals. I love how every major shopping mall organises a mooncake sales event, which everyone will attend, even if they’re not intending to buy any, just so that they can get the samples! At least that’s what I do! ๐Ÿ˜€ and the beautiful traditional paper lanterns that are sold…I think it’s just really romantic and surreal in an artsy kinda way to see many paper lanterns being lit at night, and carried by people of all ages.

Every year, we get lotsa mooncakes cause banks often send my father boxes and boxes of them. This year was no different, in that we received about 4-5 boxes of mooncakes from them. Of course we bought some ourselves too, so we ended up with so much mooncakes we had to give some away! >.< haha this year was slightly more special though cause Mid Autumn Festival fell on a weekday! That meant we had to have our family gathering pushed forward.

Since we already had this really wonderful Chinese ze cha meal the previous weekend, we decided to have a homemade sushi dinner on the actual festival!

And here comes the super special part: I decided to make this mooncake tasting platter in place of our usual one-mooncake-everypne-share thingy! Haha I was just thinking, since we had so many different kinds of mooncakes from different restaurants, why don’t we try a little of everything that night and make a comparison?

Anyone who knows me well would know that I only like traditional mooncakes. Those white lotus paste with single/no yolk kinda mooncake. I absolutely detest snow skin mooncakes. But this year we received so many snow skins ones that I was just like “argh fine I shall give em a try!” And my verdict is…I still don’t really like them ๐Ÿ˜€ I thought that Bakerzin’s mooncakes were great though, even if they were snow skin ones! Their black sesame mooncake was probably one of the best black sesame ones I’ve ever tasted! Kudos to that! As for traditional mooncakes, my favourites were those from Jin Shan, Hotel Intercontinental and Sheraton Towers aka Li Bai’s ones. The lotus pastes were so soft, moist, and had a melt-in-your-mouth texture. Loves!ย โ™ฅ

This year though, I’ve found two flavours that I absolutely adore, aside the traditional one: black sesame and green tea lotus. That’s right, green tea lotus paste with traditional skin. I’m still anti-snow skin (:

Next year, I’m making my own ๐Ÿ˜€

Leave a Reply

