Mummy’s Birthday: A Vegan Hazelnut Cake

So for my mama’s birthday cake, I had to bake a vegan one cause the doctor said she had to stop eating eggs for a while! Since it was for my mama, I had to ensure that it’ll turn out right. So I tested it out a few days before baking this cake. I made Vegan Hazeulnut Cupcakes! Which was what the original recipe dictated anyway xD haha and those were amazing! Really nice, moist and soft. My sister ate 3 straight out of the oven 😀

So I baked this as a cake this round, topped with some Chocolate Glazing Ganache by Johnny Iuzzini, and with some crushed hazelnuts in between the layers!

But before I go on about the cake I made, I have to sing praises to this ganache! It’s soooooooo nice! So smooth, so glossy, and entirely the right consistency! To be frank, my mum said she loved the ganache the most >.<

That’s mostly because the cake was pretty much a failure. Yerp. It was too dense and dry, and really it would’ve sucked ttm if not for the ganache. I’m honestly not sure why, because technically cupcake recipes should be completely adaptable to cake recipes! However dumb me forgot to lower the temperature and extend the baking time. I just blindly increased the time. That might be why it was so dense and tough? Maybe all I’ve got to do is to lower the temperature to ensure the cake doesn’t dry out. Or maybe add some milk?

Because I’ve made this in their original cupcake form which I know for sure works, I’d probably give this recipe another shot the next time I have to make a vegan cake! Oh but the ganache’s something I will be turning to frequently (:

Vegan Hazelnut (Cup)Cake
Recipe from Isa Chandra Moskowitz and Terry Hope Romero’s Vegan Cupcakes Take Over the World

1 cup & 2 tablespoon all-purpose flour
1/3 cup hazelnut meal/flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon ground nutmeg
1/2 teaspoon salt
2/3 cup rice milk or nut milk
1 tablespoon ground flaxseeds
1/3 cup canola oil
1/4 cup maple syrup
1/2 cup brown sugar, packed
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 1/2 teaspoon hazelnut extract or 1 tablespoon hazelnut liqueur

1. Line cupcake pan and preheat oven to 180C. In a small bowl, whisk together flaxseed and rice milk. In a large bowl, sift together the flour, hazelnut meal, baking powder, baking soda, cinnamon, nutmeg, and salt.

2. Add the maple syrup, sugar, canola oil, vanilla, and hazelnut liqueur to the rice milk mixture and beat well. Add the wet ingredients to the dry and mix until mostly smooth.

3. pour into liners, filling them 2/3 of the way.

4. Bake for 22 to 24 min. Give it the old toothpick test. Cool completely on racks before frosting.

Chocolate Glazing Ganache (makes about 2 1/2 cups)
Recipe from Johnny Iuzzini’s Dessert Fourplay

1 1/2 cups (360g) heavy cream
1/4 cup (60g) whole milk
1/2 cup & 2 tablespoons (125g) sugar
1/4 cup & 3 tablespoons (125g) light corn syrup
11 oz (312g) bittersweet chocolate
9 tablespoons (125g) unsalted butter, very soft, cut into pieces

1. Put the cream, milk, sugar and corn syrup in a saucepan and bring to boil over medium-high heat.

2. Put the chocolate into a large heatproof bowl and pour in the hot liquid. Stir with a rubber spatula until smooth. Add the butter a piece at a time, stirring until it’s incorporated before adding the next piece.

3. If not using immediately, transfer the ganache to a smaller bowl and cover with plastic wrap, pressing the plastic onto the surface of the ganache. Refrigerate for up to 3 days. Warm in the microwave (I did it on the stove!) before using.

Tagged , ,

One thought on “Mummy’s Birthday: A Vegan Hazelnut Cake

  1. […] portion Chocolate Glazing Ganache Some baked hazelnuts, crushed (I crushed about 1 cup for […]

Leave a Reply

