Mummy’s Birthday: An (Attempted) Eight Course Meal

Sounds ambitious yeah? Oh it is I tell ya. But seeing as it’s already 2.30am, I’m just gona post these pictures without elaborating much on them. I’m too tired T.T I’ll be back with the recipes in a weeks time!!

The original menu was:

1. Pomegranate, Green Apple and Arugula Salad with Citrus Orange Vinaigrette
2. Cheese Tomato Dumplings in Earl Grey-infused Tomato Water
3. Mixed Mushrooms, Wolfberry and Pappardelle
4. Pan-seared Snapper in Paprika Butter, with Soy Sprouts and grilled Mixed Peppers
5. Grilled Miso Eggplants
6. Baked Apples with Granola, Lemon-peel Yogurt and Honey
7. Verrines of Custard, Raspberry, Yogurt, Granola, Chocolate and Blueberry
8. Slice of birthday cake!

Pomegranate, Green Apple and Arugula Salad with Citrus Orange Vinaigrette (not)

Thanks to horrible Marketplace@Raffles Shopping Mall, the arugula that I bought the previous day wasn’t edible! It stank, horribly. So I had to skip out on the veges and make do with what I had. It turned out like this. Pfft!

Cheese Tomato Dumplings in Earl Grey-infused Tomato Water

This was nice! Really nice! I was pleasantly surprised cause the recipe for the infused water thingy didn’t look very appealing. I was glad I stuck by it though cause I reeeeeally liked it 😀 used a TWG Earl Grey teabag for this dish! My mum commented that there was too much of the ‘soup’ though, making the dish more heavy and filling than it was intended to be. I entirely agree, cause I still had lotsa soup left behind!

Mixed Mushrooms, Wolfberry and Pappardelle

This, everyone likey so so so much! Which made me a very happy girl 😀 haha thanks to me, my mum’s now a aglio olio convert! She loves it, and has been asking me to teach her how to make it! Score one for belle! 😀 haha this was actually my favourite of the 7 dishes I made. My family thought I could have been a little lighter on the spices though, cause the mushrooms tasted strongly of cumin! Oops.

Pan-seared Snapper in Paprika Butter, with Soy Sprouts and grilled Mixed Peppers

“OH MY GOD FIIIIISH!” said my sister when I brought this out of the kitchen. One thing about my family’s that we all adore fish. Like we need our weekly salmon fix and stuff LOL. This was a relatively simple dish to prepare. Basically I salt-rubbed the fish and let it marinate overnight in the refrigerator, then I made this compound butter with paprika and well, butter. Then I pan-sear the fish in some of the compound butter, while grilling the peppers simultaneously. Stressful~

Grilled Miso Eggplants

I wasn’t happy with this dish. Everyone told me that it tasted fine, but the general consensus was that it was too soggy! It’s supposed have a roasted kinda texture, so I have no idea why it turned out like this. I’m guessing that the eggplants might be too long and not fat/thick enough?

Verrines of Custard, Raspberry, Yogurt, Granola, Chocolate and Blueberry

And here is where I deviated from the menu for the second time. LOL everyone was too full to be able to have two desserts! So I cancelled the pre-dessert since it hasn’t been made (lucky for me)! I liked these verrines, I really did. My twins loved them, Novia would have preferred for the custard to be removed, and my mum thought it was a tad too sour. Quote her: “aiya I cannot appreciate these kinda things one lah!” 😦 haha personally I absolutely loved the raspberry and blueberry sauce/coulis, but I thought the chocolate stuff was just so-so cause it was actually Jello’s instant fat-free pudding xD

Strawberry Balsamic Mousse – Layers of Cream Chantilly, Strawberry Balsamic Mousse, Vanilla Bavarois, Pistachio Sponge and Strawberry Balsamic Jam coated Sable

Ohmy this is one mighty fine slice of cake. At $7.80, I totally didn’t regret getting it. It was worth every cent. The sponge was super soft, and the mousse was extremely delicate, smooth, and not too creamy. It was everything it sounds like. I just hope that the pistachio could stand out more. The balsamic strawberry really did shine though. The flavours were really pronounced. It’s such a unique creation! And I absolutely adore it ♥ Ok you know what, I’ll be back Bonheur Patisserie!

 

Cheese Tomato Dumplings in Earl Grey-infused Tomato Water (serves 4)
Recipe from Appetite’s Annual 2012 Recipes

Tomato Water
1kg ripe tomato
300g celery
2 white onions, cut
2L water
2 Earl Grey teabags (I used TWG!)
Chives, chopped

Dumplings
100g Mozzarella cheese, diced
3 tomatoes, seeded and diced
12 pieces wonton skins

1. To make the tomato water, puree the tomatoes, celery, onions and water in a blender. Transfer to a pot and let it boil for 10 minutes.

2. Infuse the teabags in the tomato mixture for about 1 hour. When done, strain through a sieve and set aside, keeping it warm.

3. To make the dumplings, combine the cheese and diced tomatoes and place a teaspoon of the mixture onto each wonton skin. Wrap and seal the wonton skins.

4. Bring a large pot of water to a boil. Add the wontons, making sure there is enough room for them to move about freely. Let the wontons boil for 5-8 minutes, or until they rise to the top and the filling is cooked through. Remove wontons from the pot.

5. Dish out onto individual plates, garnish with chopped chives and serve with warm tomato water.

Aglio Olio style Mixed Mushroom Pasta with Wolfberries (serves 3)

1 box of mixed mushrooms
Cumin
Paprika
Dried Chili flakes
4 cloves garlic, diced
Handful of wolfberries
Parsley
Pasta of your choice
Salt and Pepper

1. Cook your pasta according to the directions on the package. While the pasta is cooking, slice the mushrooms and dice the garlic. Drain the pasta when it’s done and run it under cold water to stop the cooking.

2. Saute the mixed mushrooms with a dash of cumin and paprika for a few minutes, until the mushrooms release its juices and stuff. I added about 1 teaspoon of paprika and 2 teaspoons of cumin.

3. In a separate pan, heat 2-3 tablespoons of olive oil. When it starts to smoke a little, add the garlic and chili flakes and saute, not letting the garlic brown.

4. Add in the cooked pasta, mushrooms and the wolfberries. Toss for a few minutes to reheat the pasta, then season and serve.

Smoked Paprika Compound Butter (makes 12 tablespoons)
Recipe from Runs With Spatulas

1 1/2 cups butter, at room temperature
2 1/2 teaspoons Smoked Paprika

1. In a medium bowl, use the back of a fork to mash the butter. Fold in the paprika until fully blended. Transfer butter to a 12×18 piece of wax paper. Roll paper up, shaping butter into a log. Store in the refrigerator until ready to use.

I thought that the paprika flavour was much much much too mild for my taste, so I’d probably add 2 teaspoons or more the next time.

Miso Aubergine
Recipe from Farm To Table Geek

425g eggplants
1/4 cup mirin
2 tablespoon + 1 teaspoon oil
2 tablespoon white miso paste
1 medium chili
5g nugget ginger
2 teaspoon roasted sesame oil
sesame seeds
coconut sugar

1. Preheat the oven to 180C, and fit a baking sheet with a piece of parchment.

2. Next, halve the eggplant and score the flesh, being careful not to pierce the skin.

3. Whisk together 2 TB of the peanut oil with 2 TB of the Mirin and brush this mixture over the scored eggplant, going over it in two or more passes until all of it is used. Sprinkle with salt.

4. Roast the eggplant until it is meltingly tender. While this little miracle is happening, in your mortar and pestle, pulverize the ginger nugget along with the chili to a fine paste. Mix in the miso, the remaining 2 TB of mirin, 1 tsp of peanut oil and 2 tsp of sesame oil.

5. Using a flat spatula, carefully flip the roasted eggplant over and liberally brush with this mixture. Sprinkle with the coconut sugar, then disseminate the sesame seeds over the whole shebang. Pop under a broiler until the sugar bubbles and the faces of the eggplant brown.

Raspberry Sauce (makes 1 cup)

1/8 cup white sugar
1/2 pint fresh raspberries
1 tablespoon orange juice
1 tablespoon corn starch
1/2 cup cold water

1. Combine the sugar, raspberries and orange juice in a saucepan. Whisk the corn starch with the cold water until smooth. Add it to the saucepan and bring to a boil.

2. Simmer for 5 minutes, stirring until it reaches the desired consistency. The sauce will thicken as it cools.

3. Puree sauce and strain it. It will keep, refrigerated, for 2 weeks.

Blueberry Coulis
Recipe from Chocolate and Zucchini

240 grams (1 1/4 cups) blueberries, thawed if frozen
90 ml (6 tablespoons) water
30 grams (1 tablespoon + 2 teaspoons) agave syrup or maple syrup

1. In a medium saucepan, combine the blueberries, water and syrup. Bring to a simmer, cook for 2 minutes, then remove from the heat and let cool.

2. Use a blender or an immersion blender to purée the mixture. Add a little more water to thin it out if necessary. Taste and decide if it needs a little sweetening, depending on what you’ll serve it with.

Tagged ,

2 thoughts on “Mummy’s Birthday: An (Attempted) Eight Course Meal

  1. […] I’m sorry for falling victim to one of the biggest culinary clichés ever. I’ve been trying real hard to resist the “Cod” current that seems to have taken over every contemporary European restaurant, but it seems I’ve failed terribly Inspired by ONAKA’s concept of fusing Asian and Western elements, this dish is a fusion between Nobu Matsuhisa’s signature Black Cod with Miso and one of my dishes a while back (the Miso Aubergine). […]

  2. […] I’m sorry for falling victim to one of the biggest culinary clichés ever. I’ve been trying real hard to resist the “Cod” current that seems to have taken over every contemporary European restaurant, but it seems I’ve failed terribly Inspired by ONAKA’s concept of fusing Asian and Western elements, this dish is a fusion between Nobu Matsuhisa’s signature Black Cod with Miso and one of my dishes a while back (the Miso Aubergine). […]

Leave a Reply

