This is bad.

No seriously, it is. It’s now nearing…2am, and I’m blogging. Which is bad. Because as you know my absence is my absolute determination to keep focused on hardcore mugging for my upcoming As. And my first paper’s on the coming Tuesday. Awesome.ย 

BLAME MY FRIEND. She sent me a message at just past midnight, asking me to visit a fellow friend’s foodblog. URGH and THAT got me started, cause I realised that there are sooooo many many places that I have not posted about! Just to list a few: Palio, High Society, Grand Shanghai, House@Barracks, Itacho, Jones The Grocer, OTTO, ok and so many more. That’s not even counting the million and gazillion things I’ve cooked/baked.

Oh and just to appease my sudden urge to blog (and to keep this place floating for a lil’ while) here’s some pictures of what I cooked the past Tuesday for my darling mum’s birthday! ๐Ÿ˜€

Pastel Pink Pomegranate seeds – how I wished they were a stunning shade of red

An utter failure of what was supposed to be a Diced Pear, Pomegranate and Wild Rocket salad with Honey Citrus Vinaigrette. My salad greens died and smelled of poop, even though I only bought them the day before, so I ended up with one green pear and a mini pomegranate. Hmm. Oh and my already-emulsified vinaigrette.

(Pappardelle) Mixed Mushrooms Aglio Olio with Garlic-infused Olive Oil and Wolfberries

According to the guinea pigs, this dish was a TOTAL success! One of their favourite dishes in fact! And there ain’t no recipe for this…cause I came up with the dish in my head muahaha! I was thinking of a balance of textures and flavours. The first Aglio Olio that I did was just too salty. The recipe called for adding the salt while sauteing the garlic and chili flakes with the oil. And add them I did. Tasted. Seemed bland. Added more. I realised afterwards that you can’t really taste the salt that way. So I learnt and adapted it! This time it was a simple dish of sauteing some enoki mushrooms, portabellos, and some jin zhen (golden??) mushrooms in a little homemade Compound Paprika Butter, then sauteing some garlic with the (also homemade) infused oil, tossing in the slightly undercooked pasta, then frying them a little till the surface of the pappardelle’s slightly charred. Season, and throw in some rinsed wolfberries just before taking the skillet of the heat (: viola, a simple and mindblowing dish. IMHO.

Pan-seared Snapper with Soy Sprouts and Stove-grilled Mixed Peppers

At least I think those were soy sprouts? I could recognise it if I was asked to, but I can’t recall its name! Haha this was a winner too! ๐Ÿ˜€ this is my first time searing fish, and I must say it turned out really well. Perfectly browned tops and bottoms, with moist centers that are definitely not undercooked, but ย just short of being overdone. Omg I’ve gotta stop blowing my own trumpet. LOL! This dish was also thought up by yours truly, who abandoned the idea of making a carrot-ginger emulsion instead. I was toying with that idea, but was kinda afraid I wouldn’t be able to manage my time well. I wanted to make a balsamic reduction instead. But I burnt it. Sobs ๐Ÿ˜ฆ oh btw, I didn’t mention that this was a 8 course dinner did I?

I think I’m gona have to edit the first two photos, case the lighting’s terrible o.o shall update after my As, when I’ll be bombing posts like I did in June! TTFN! ๐Ÿ˜€

 

 

Leave a Reply

