Pork Burgers and a Pasta Salad

I had been watching Masterchef USA for the past few days, and was suddenly inspired by one of their challenges! Haha it’s soooo hard not to get real excited about them especially when you’re being led on to think that one group will win, then finding out that they didn’t! There was this challenge where the two teams had to cook burger meals for truckers. Like woah, truckers?! It was quite cool to see how one group made healthier versions with onions, tomatoes and coleslaw; while the other made a real greasy one with bacon, barbeque sauce and fries or something. Two really different concepts. And that got me uber excited! I WAS GOING TO MAKE BURGERS.

Healthy ones though my family absolutely can’t stand grease and oil.

Haha so I got the leanest minced pork possible from the wet market, marinated it with some paprika, salt, cumin, coriander and pepper. Made it into little round patties and voila! The burger was done 😀 it was the first time I was making patties from scratch, so I just stuck to a real simple and basic kinda pattie. Which tasted real good! It was gobbled up to quickly and unsightly that the only picture I managed to capture, was one of a lonely patty…

LOL the chicken picture on the plate’s rather funny in this photo xD

Anyway my mum and I didn’t think that these not-very-large burgers would be filling. So I decided to make some pasta salad! Once again it’ll be the first time I’m making this dish, so I decided to play it safe by looking for some highly rated recipes. Unfortunately these recipes almost always call for onion powder or other seasonings that I don’t have. And I don’t like mustard. So that made it kinda hard…in the end I made an adaptation of a recipe I found. It turned out pretty great (: I would reduce the amount of onions though cause the emulsion tasted a little too onion-y hee!

I gained 1kg after my dinner that day. Sigh…

Pork Patties

Minced Pork
Ground Paprika
Ground Cumin
Salt and Pepper
Cajun Seasoning

1. Just mix all the spices with the ground pork (or whatever meat it is that you desire!), season, and voila! Your patties are done! Do this the night before you’re cooking them.

2. Shape them into patties and refrigerate overnight.

Pasta Salad

3/4 cup extra virgin olive oil
1/4 cup balsamic vinegar
Oregano
Rosemary
Basil
Parsley
1/2-1 Red Onion
Salt and Pepper

1. Dice the onion.

2. Put them all into an airtight bottle, then shake as hard as you can to emulsify!

3. Taste and season, then toss your pasta salad ingredients in it. I used broccoli, baby carrots and these cute little pasta whose name I forgotten.

I added as much spices as I wanted to, without any measurement! Any kinds of spice would do here. Most sites recommend italian spice/italian dressins, but sadly I don’t have em so I just had to improvise!(:

Tagged ,

Leave a Reply

