Another Birthday Cake!

Ahhh once again it’s been so long since I’ve had the time to blog about my recent (or not so) bakes! So I don’t care if I’m dead beat right now, but I swear I’m gona finish at least two posts like now. 3.05am. Awesome.

Anyway! This was like a month back already, so do forgive my if my memory’s a tad sketchy. I made this roughly 2 weeks after the previous chocolate cake for my baby cousin’s birthday! It was a really big deal cause I HAD to get it right. Absolutely no mistakes were allowed. And the cake had to be impressive. Ok, breath. So I went searching for some nice kiddy cakes, and found this reeeeeally pretty one of a cake shaped like an owl! I was like “oh man this is the one.” One problem: it needed fondant. Did I mention that I haven’t tried making fondants before? Hmmm. I thought it’d be ok though since I usually don’t fail that badly. My first attempt should still look a lil’ sumthin’ sumthin’ like fondant.

That’s went it all went down the hill. I didn’t have enough sugar to make the fondant. Flabbit. So, it turned out as this lumpy grainy mess which I DUH couldn’t use. Sadded (singlish at play), I went on to make some raspberry buttercream. Which I succeeded on initially. Until I put it in the fridge and found it deaded the next morning. RAWR. And remember I don’t have any more sugar by then, so I ended up making a second batch of buttercream with coarse table sugar. Bleah. Awful.

Yes that IS supposed to be a freaking owl.

Staring at this picture makes me feel demoralised again pfft.

Everyone went: OMG GREAT JOB ON THE BUTTER CAKE ♥ BUT WHAT THE HELL’S THAT THING ON TOP?!

Argh…

Basic Butter Cake
Recipe from Australian Women’s Weekly: More Cakes for Kids

125g (4 oz) butter, softened
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
3/4 cup (165g) castor sugar
2 eggs
1 1/2 cups (225g) self-raising flour
1/2 cup (125ml) milk

1. Preheat oven to 150C. Grease and line cake pan.

2. Beat butter, extract and sugar in a small bowl until light and fluffy. Beat in eggs, one at a time. Then stir in sifted flour and milk, alternating between both in two batches.

3. Spread mixture into pan, smoothing the top. Bake for 35 minutes. Stand cake in pan for 5 minutes, then turn cake onto wire rack to cool.

Tagged ,

Leave a Reply

