Chicken Rice and Roast Pork II, and another Molten Chocolate Cake II

Chicken Rice and Roast Pork is back. With double the kick.

LOL ok that was just overly dramatic.

A few weeks back, my mum received an sms from the butcher that he’s just got this great cut of uber lean pork belly. My mum literally flew there. And so our dinner for that day was destined to be Chicken Rice with Roast Pork.

Once again my mum made a killer chicken rice! In addition it was probably the best rice she’s made so far. The rice used in chicken rice gets its fragrance from the chicken fat that it’s cooked in. It’s usually prepared by boiling the chicken skin-on, then cooking the rice in the broth, any extra chicken fat, some garlic, ginger and extras. My mum refuses to cook the rice this way, cause it’s really fattening AND unhealthy. She has my utmost support!  so what my mum did this time, was to cook the rice with some lemongrass and pandan leaves. And ohmygosh it was just absolutely deli. Deli’s become my new fave word 😀 the rice was moist, really fragrant, and absolutely oil-less. Brava. The chicken itself was steamed without any extra stuff. So it was really quite a healthy rendition of local Chicken Rice.

Can you tell that the roast pork is nearly fatless? I have to say that I don’t understand all the fuss about the fat in the pork belly. Supposed top chefs have frequently talked about the wonderful pork fat, the buttery feeling of it and stuff, but urgh. That pretty much sums up what I think of that. Roast pork taste FINE without all that fat. The meat’s still tender and moist without all that blubber! But seeing as to how they’re renowned and I’m just ONE Singaporean teenager,  we shall agree to disagree (: well, at least I shall.

The sad thing about my mum’s cooking endeavors, is that she almost never makes desserts. She’s only made one thus far, and that’s the Fu Zhu Tang Shui. Our house basically lacks the sweets. Which I’ve unfortunately grown extremely fond of recently. Hence the new tyre I’ve attained 😦

Haha so I decided that I shall make some desserts! I know my twins would back me up on this one cause we’re all dessert lovers. I settled on making the Molten Chocolate Cakes again cause I wasn’t happy with the previous attempts. The first time I made it, I wasn’t too happy with the texture of the cake. And the chocolate had a powdery aftertaste that just wasn’t pleasant. Then I went for the Macarons Workshop and learnt about the differences between couverture and the-other-kind-of chocolates. That made me super excited to re-try these chocolate cakes, so I attempted it again. This time the taste was just bad. I used Gordon Ramsay’s recipe, followed it detail to detail; but didn’t like it. The chocolate had this weird taste that I can’t really put my finger on. So this time round, I tried the original Jean-Georges’ recipe.

It turned out awesome. It was liquidy on the inside, had a real cakey texture, and the taste was just right. I was quite afraid that I would end up with something disastrous, so I baked one as a tester. And oh boy was it fab. So I decided to kick it up a notch by making some hot berry sauce (recipe gotten from Chelle @ http://www.vintagetrinkets.blogger.com)!

Oh was it magnificent (: my only qualm was that the chocolate didn’t ooze out! What I love about this dessert, is the moment where you cut into the cake and see the chocolate flow out and pool at the base of the cake. Though it did taste liquidy, it didn’t quite achieve the visual effect.

Anyway I had some leftover batter that day, so I froze it, and served it together with some mousse I whipped up the next day! Haha actually it was kinda like an excuse for me to make mousse! I didn’t like the mousses I made previously, so I promised myself that I would master it sooner or later. Of course, the sooner the better!

Yarmee 😀 I was soooo delighted to have found one recipe that worked, and that my family loved! Until I realised hours later, that I forgot to add an extra egg yolk into the batter -.- wonder how it would turn out if I had included that extra yolk…

Jean-Georges Vongerichten’s Molten Chocolate Cakes (makes 4 6-ounce cakes)
Recipe from Food & Wine

1 stick (4 ounces) unsalted butter
6 ounces bittersweet chocolate, preferably Valrhona
2 eggs
2 egg yolks*
1/4 cup sugar
Pinch of salt
2 tablespoons all-purpose flour

1. Preheat the oven to 450°. Butter and lightly flour four 6-ounce ramekins. Tap out the excess flour. Set the ramekins on a baking sheet.

2. In a double boiler, over simmering water, melt the butter with the chocolate. In a medium bowl, beat the eggs with the egg yolks, sugar and salt at high speed until thickened and pale.

3. Whisk the chocolate until smooth. Quickly fold it into the egg mixture along with the flour. Spoon the batter into the prepared ramekins and bake for 12 minutes**, or until the sides of the cakes are firm but the centers are soft. Let the cakes cool in the ramekins for 1 minute, then cover each with an inverted dessert plate. Carefully turn each one over, let stand for 10 seconds and then unmold. Serve immediately.

Make Ahead: The batter can be refrigerated for several hours; bring to room temperature before baking.

*I accidentally omitted these extra yolks into my cake hee xD don’t know if that made it less runny, but it definitely did not affect the taste of the cakes I can tell you that! In fact I’m rather skeptical of how successful it would have turned out if I’d added in those extra yolks…

**My previous attempts taught me that 12 minutes was way too much. Maybe my oven’s lousy, but I’ve realised that 10 minutes was sufficient to leave enough runny chocolate in the middle. So be flexible! 😀

Tagged ,

Leave a Reply

