Father’s Day: Pot Luck

For the pot luck, mummy was cooking Fried Bee Hoon, Salted Egg Prawns, Bitter Gourd with Fish Paste, Minced Pork, Century and Salted Egg Yolk Stuffings, and Asparagus with Assorted Mushrooms, out of which two were suggested by me, and one was taught to her by yours truly *teehee* Cause almost nothing was made by me, this post will be mostly filled with pictures (:

Mummy always looks like a professional Chinese chef 😀 I wana be like her!

Ain’t those prawns lookin’ mighty fine? Doncha just wana sink your teeth into them? I do admire my self control…

The bitter gourd’s still uncooked here. Sadly I wasn’t able to snap any picture of the bee hoon in time…

Pretty soon everyone were coming up to eat at our garden. So we helped mummy set up the tables, bring up the drinks dispenser, disposable cutlery and all the many many dishes.

Clockwise: Plate filled with tables, fish with leek, bitter gourd with stuffings, salted egg prawns, asparagus with assorted mushrooms, sweet and sour pork, spring rolls stuffed with yellow soy beans, fried mash potatoes, traditional kong bak pao

It was pretty great seeing how everyone had fun on the overall. The only let down of the day was my super failed Upside Down Apple and Cinnamon Cake. I’ve mentioned before that a celebration just does not feel right without a cake. So I had to make one for my dad. Since there were going to be so many people that night, my mum suggested that I contribute to the pot luck by baking a larger cake to share. Bad idea, because the cake failed.

I had told myself over and over again, that I need to start trusting my instincts. But I never do. I’d think “ohmygosh what if my instincts were wrong and the recipe was meant to result in something like that?” That was what happened yesterday! While mixing up the batter, I felt that something was wrong. It just didn’t feel right to me. Scaredy ol’ me decided to go against my instincts and bake the cake. Which ended up as a disaster.

The moment I took it out of the oven, I was like oh flabbit. It looked, and felt, so dense and tough. I was afraid it would taste horrid, but there was still this little part of me that hoped the recipe was right, and that it would turn out ok. Sadly it didn’t 😦 everyone said it was bad, both jokingly and seriously. I didn’t want to be a spoil sport by feeling down and sad at the comments, but I can’t help it because it was a present for my dad. Baking a badly tasting cake wouldn’t have been that awful if it weren’t because that was supposed to be a gift. Sigh…ah well the apples tasted good at least. Always find a silver lining~

I’m definitely going to improve on it, and make sure I produce a top notch cake next Father’s Day! Daddy’s Day 2012, here I come.

On a lighter note, the twins had a puppet performance for my dad as their gift!

Tagged ,

One thought on “Father’s Day: Pot Luck

  1. Mauro Engman says:

    This is really interesting, You are a very skilled blogger. I have joined your feed and look forward to seeking more of your magnificent post. Also, I have shared your site in my social networks!

Leave a Reply

