Chicken Fajitas and Omu Rice

Since I have many many many entries to post, I shall condense a few cooking attempts into a post MUAHAHAHAHA.

As the title suggests, this round it was chicken fajitas and omurice! The fajitas were a real challenge cause there were so many suggested recipes! Some were really weird, using things like wine (?) and other stuff I can’t recall. So I was like, what? That really baffled me there. After copying many – I mean MANY – recipes, I combined their plus-es and removed their minus-es from the reviews and came up with an adapted recipe! Tried it out, and viola, IT WAS EDIBLE.

I have to say that I didn’t like it’s slight watery-ness. I would have preferred the sauce to be reduced further to give it that thick, sauce-ish touch. I was afraid then though that the chicken would not be cooked through or turn out too hard! So I opted for a safer lid-on cooking method. Next time I’d probably cook lid-on first, then reduce the sauce after the chicken is 3/4 cooked.


I used NTUC-bought wholemeal wraps for this, and I gotta say they tasted great! (: It had this prata-ish yet not totally prata taste. Hard to describe you guys must taste it for yourselves!

My mum was complaining that I would not have been able to cook that amount of carrots in time cause they take real long to soften. HAH but I proved her wrong! Surprisingly, they took a mere 7-10 minutes to soften! With which the peppers and luncheon meat followed.

The tricky part to this dish comes when the sauces had to be mixed. Because I don’t have many saucers, nor the experience to gauge how much sauce is needed per serving, I had to stop between each plate to mix the sauces. That cause a lot of time between servings 😦 the next, and probably the biggest, problem I faced was flipping the omelet around. The egg has to be cook first. While its still slightly runny, the fried rice would be added onto the egg. I was supposed to add the rice on one side of the egg so I could fold the other side in. Following that, the egg was to be flipped onto the plates so that the round unfolded side of the egg faces up. Out of 10 servings, 9 failed. Ohmygosh.

This was the only successful one. You can tell that the eggs not fully hardened yet. Still slightly soft, and like what an omurice should be like.

This was how the others looked like…I had trouble with flipping the egg onto the plate all the time, so I ended up cooking the egg till its paper-thin, then removing it from the pan. Put it on the plate, add some rice, then roll it manually. Like a sushi. Sigh…

But it didn’t suck after all. Still tasted good. My only regret is that the egg does not have that soft, fluffy feel that omurice eggs possess. And thus, I swear to return to master this dish one day!

Omu Rice (serves 2)
Recipe adapted from Happy Home Baking

2 servings of cooked plain rice
1/2 carrot, diced
1/2 onion, diced
1/3 yellow capsicum, diced
80g ham/luncheon meat, diced
100g crab stick, diced
3 tablespoons tomato sauce
1 tablespoon Worcestershire sauce
4 eggs
Salt and Pepper
Some oil
More tomato sauce

1. Mix 3 tablespoon tomato sauce and Worcestershire sauce in a bowl. Saute diced ingredients for 1 minute on high heat. Reduce heat to half and add in steamed rice and mixed sauce. Mix well for 30 seconds, then turn off the heat.

2. Beat 2 eggs in a bowl and add a pinch of salt. Heat up a frying pan with some oil. Pour in the egg mixture and tilt the pan to coat the base. Cook until eggs are almost set but still a little runny in the middle.

3. Lower the heat and spoon half of the fried rice mixture in the middle of the omelet. With a spatula, flip one side of the egg over the rice mixture. Pick up the pan and with the unfolded side, slide the omelet from the frying pan to a serving plate, just half way through. Then, carefully tilt and turn the pan over and the omelet is on the plate. For this step, watch this video clip.

4. Repeat the same for the remaining portion of the rice. Drizzle with ketchup and serve immediately.

Tagged

Leave a Reply

