Linguine Seafood Diavolo

For my second attempt at cooking, I’ve decided to cook Linguine Seafood Diavolo since I absolutely adore pasta. It’s a must for me every visit to an italian restaurant. Haha it doesn’t help that I’ve recently been to Bella Pizza and Les Strada, both of which had excellent tomato based seafood pasta! Cause of those, I’m inspired to create such wonderfully tasting food for my family.

One thing about me is that I like to challenge myself. I thought, well if those italian chefs could make their sauces from scratch, which is what I believe they do since every restaurant’s sauces taste different, why couldn’t I? And so, here comes my ambitious attempt at making my own tomato sauce from scratch!

.

.

.

.

The results ain’t so bad after all! It actually tasted great! But my family consist of oil freaks who went: “EEK! How could you have added oil in the sauce?! We’ve never added oil in our sauces before!” And I was like, DUH. That’s because prepared and canned sauces were always used. Those have enough unnatural unhealthy stuffs (including some oil in them I believe!) to outweigh my little drop of extra virgin olive oil. Hmmmm…

Now, everything would have been perfect, if it weren’t because I accidentally poured the entire bottle of pepper into the sauce. Yep I seriously did that. I forgot that the pepper bottle should be used just by opening the lid and sprinkling the pepper. I thought that it was like my basil bottle, which worked by unscrewing the entire lid! So I unscrewed the lid of the pepper bottle, shook it, and down goes all the pepper into my bowl of sauce. Emptied. Managed to salvage it last minute by scooping up all the excess pepper, but still that caused my sauce to have a slightly stronger pepper taste, which isn’t what my ‘customers’ prefer. Personally, I thought it wasn’t that bad, and that the pepper added another dimension of taste to the sauce, giving it a slightly spicy tang. Sadly my customers thought otherwise…

Ok honestly, this attempt was sorta my second attempt at pastas. My first failed, not because of the sauce, but because of the pasta. I was using this wholegrain organic pasta which was really hard to cook. I followed the instructions and cooked the noodles for 8 mins, supposedly al dente. But it wasn’t. It was just plain hard and unchewable. Even after draining, sitting, and letting cool for a while. So I boiled it for a couple a minutes more. At first it seemed ok, slightly chewy even! But after draining and sitting, it ended up becoming one soft lumpy mush that has that melt-in-your-mouth but not so completely kinda feel. Urgh.

Ugly picture of my badly cooked pasta. I’m ashamed >.< appalled.

Linguine Seafood Diavolo (serves 6)

1/3 Cup Olive Oil
1 1/2 Cupe iced Onions
1 Cup diced Scallions
6 Tablespoons Tomato Paste
1/2 Cup Red Wine Vinegar/Dry White Wine
3 Cups Hot Water
4 Cups canned crushed Tomatoes
1/2 Cup chopped Italian Parsley Leaves
1 Teaspoon crushed Red Pepper
Salt and Pepper
1 Pound Linguine

1. De-shell the seafood.

2. In a large stockpot, heat the olive oil over medium heat. Add onions and scallions and saute till translucent, about 3-4 minutes. Blend vinegar/wine with hot water, add to pan and bring it to full boil. Add tomatoes, parsley and season.

3. Let simmer for a few minutes then add in the crushed red pepper.

4. Boil the pasta till al dente.

5. In a separate pan, add a little olive oil and your seafoods. Cook till nearly done, then pour the seafood together with the sauteed juice into the sauce. Bring the sauce to a boil, and let it reduce till slightly thickened.

6. When pasta is cooked, drain it and return it to the pot. Add half the sauce and toss to coat over low heat. Simmer for a while to reheat it. Then take it out, separate it into 6 portions, and spoon the remaining sauce over.

While cooking this, I kinda deviated from the recipe a little here and there…but it still turned out great! So be creative I guess (:

Tagged

Leave a Reply

