Raspberry Jellyhearts and Oreo Cheesecake!

Shall post now before my mum chases me to post her stuffs!

I’ve decided to dedicate majority of this blog to my mum’s cooking LOL cause I decided her food was too nice not to show to the world! Which consists of whoever’s reading this = probably only me. So not the point.

In this post, imma bout to show u guys my newfound talent…in making non-bake cheesecakes TEEHEE. See we don’t have an oven cause my mum doesn’t know how to bake. So she decided the space would be put to better use by removing the oven and changing it into a storage space for stuffs. Thus my predicament. A want to bake, but the lack of equipments. Sadded! Haha so anyway what prompted me to make this cheesecake was my sister’s 15th bday!! It was on the 12th Feb, which coincides with Chingay’11! 😦 I was participating in Chingay as an usher, so it rather saddened me that i wasn’t able to celebrate her birthday with her. And so i made this to makeup! 😀 this is the FIRST time I’ve tried this, not to be ego but honestly it was great. REALLY. No kidding.

It’s cheesecake with a biscuit crust at the bottom, and raspberry Jell-o at the top. I despise strawberry flavoring. My greatest appreciation to Felicia @ http://www.muffinsareuglycupcakes.wordpress.com for the recipe of this dessert! It’s called Jelly Hearts ❤ So cute right!! Anyway I made a great screw up that day! The recipe was suppose to cater for a portion of 12 small cups, muffin sized ones. It stated that 250g of digestive biscuits were needed. I think my weighing scale’s kinda screwed, cause 250g measured biscuits that filled up an entire 15cm x 25cm tupperware! OHMYGOD. I ended up making 3 takeaway-boxes worth of cheesecakes >< managed to keep one box and pass it of as a Valentine’s Day gift! 😀

Then the thing about such things is, once you’ve gotten the sense of accomplishment at the BEAUTY you’ve created, IT’LL NEVER STOP. Roughly 3 days later, I had this genius of an idea to make another cheesecake for my friend’s bday on the 17th! Haha I tried an Oreo cheesecake this time round though! The recipe’s available from Kraft’s website. At first I was a tad scared that my cake’ll end up screwed, cause the recipe required 3/4 cups of sugar. That’s A LOT of sugar. At least to me. I was kinda afraid it’ll get too sweet, so I lowered the quantity on my own. Ended up to 3 scoops only. But a bigger spoon. Like a serving spoon-ish. And guess what? It was sweet enough! Probably a tad little sweeter 😀

Tadah that’s the final product! Yes I know it looks severely unpresentable! That’s cause I’m an amateur! I don’t have the equipments and stuff! I made this in a tupperware box, with spoons. You know how you’re supposed to beat the cheese, sugar and gelatin together? Yeah I did it by hand. Using my arm power. No joke. My arm hurt like some crap! Haha the sides and the surface are kinda super rough cause I didn’t have anything to flatten/smoothen them by except my spoon. So I made do with it xD by the way this tasted even better than the previous one! Even my mum, who detests sweet stuff, said so and encouraged me to make more. Score one for me!

Looks even better after it’s been lighted up yeah? Sense of accomplishment! Now I know why my mum loves cooking.

Raspberry Jellyhearts Cheesecake
Recipe from Felicia’s Jelly Hearts

Biscuit Base
300g Digestive Biscuits
140g Melted Butter

Cheese Layer
1 block of Philidelphia Cream Cheese
10g Gelatine Powder
50g Sugar
1/2 cup Hot Water
1/2 tsp Vanilla Essence

Raspberry Jello Top
1 box of Strawberry or Raspberry flavoured Jello
1 1/2 cups boiling hot water
1 1/2 cups cold

1. Mix the biscuit and the butter together. Press it into a cake pan and refrigerate.

2. Cream the cheese, sugar and vanilla together.

3. In a seperate bowl, sprinkle the gelatine powder over the hot water and mix. Don’t put it in all at once because it’ll clump together.

4. Add to cream cheese mixture, stir to combine and thin it down. Strain once if you want to remove any lumps! Now fill the cake pan. Let set in the fridge. (Took me about 4 hours I think!)

5. Mix water and jello powder together and pour over the cheese layer and set for another few hours.

Oreo No-bake Cheesecake (serves 10)

Cheese Filling
1 Cup Whipped Cream
100g Oreo (Chocolate Creme), cookies and filling separated
2 Tablespoons Lemon Juice
3 Tablespoons Gelatin
3/4 Cup Castor Sugar
500g Cream Cheese

Oreo Biscuit Base
0-50g Melted Butter
1 Cup crushed Oreo Cookies (Chocolate Creme)

Some Oreos for deco!

1. Crush the oreos for the biscuit base. By right the oreo creme filling should be enough to hold the crumbs together. But just in case it doesn’t, drizzle in the melted butter till the base comes together.

2. Beat the cheese and sugar together, then add the gelatin, whipped cream and oreo chocolate cookies and creme filling.

3. Top with some crushed oreos if desired, then refrigerate for a few hours!

Tagged

One thought on “Raspberry Jellyhearts and Oreo Cheesecake!

  1. […] and in my photography skills. Ohmygosh especially my photography skills. See the original post here. Boy oh boy were those photos nasty! It’s funny how every blogger looks back once in a blue […]

Leave a Reply

