Dark chocolate cake with buckwheat

I had a sudden craving for chocolate that day (months ago), but at the same time I was also feeling extremely adventurous. So I went alooking for some slightly challenging recipe, and found this quinoa-type cake. Made it; then threw it away.

It was not that it tasted bad or anything. The flavors were there: just the right amount of sweetness, not too dry, moist. But I hated the taste of quinoa flour. Urgh. I’ve heard so many nice things about it, how it was extremely healthy and delicious, but omg the taste was just horrid! I do hope it’s just me, or at least just the flour that I bought! I guess I’d have to try a quinoa dish to be able to tell. Oh no I felt so bad and so guilty for wasting food and throwing that bread away :(

That just made me even more determined to bake something actually edible, and delicious. And so I went for the ingredient that no one can ever get wrong – chocolate. I headed over to reliable Bea, and got this recipe for dark chocolate cake with buckwheat and millet flour! I don’t have millet, so I replaced it with more buckwheat and all-purpose flour :D

Mmmm…the house smelt amazing while this was baking! And my oh my was it yummy or yummy? Absolutely gorgeous and delicious. My only qualm was that it turned out more fudgy than cakey! Which was entirely different from Bea’s results. I can’t help but wonder if I added the eggs to the melted chocolates a tad too early to give it this fudgy custard feel o.o but anyway, this is a must-try chocolate cake. A great chocolate fix for you chocoholics out there!

Dark chocolate cake with buckwheat
Recipe adapted from Bea’s Dark chocolate cake recipe with buckwheat and millet

7 tablespoons (100 g) unsalted butter + some for mold
100 g dark chocolate
4 large eggs
Pinch of sea salt
100 g (1/2 cup + 1/3 cup) light Muscovado sugar
1/4 cup all-purpose flour
1/4 cup buckwheat flour

1. Preheat the oven to 350 F and butter a 7 x 10-inch baking dish (or use a round cake mold). Line it with parchment paper; set aside.

2. Melt the butter and chocolate using a double boiler; set aside.

3. In the bowl of a stand mixer, combine the eggs with the sugar and a pinch of salt. Beat on high speed until the volume has tripled.

4. Reduce the speed and add the melted butter and chocolate, continuing to beat until well incorporated. Remove the bowl from the stand and fold in the flours, making sure not to deflate the batter.

5.Transfer the chocolate cake batter to the mold and bake the cake for 30 minutes. Remove from the oven and let cool. Cut in squares (or wedges) and dust with confectioner’s sugar if desired.

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,494 other followers

