Chocolate and Vanilla Marbled Madeleines

Sooo…

Been real busy the past few weeks! Prelims are coming up so I’ve gotta kick up my study schedule by a notch. That means less baking AND less posting :( recently though, I’ve revived my interest in macarons ♥ oh those pretty little petite bites packed with , fats and calories. How I adore them (: my adoration is really teetering on the edge of extremity. Within a span of 4 days, I’ve visited 4 different patisseries in Singapore just to find the best macaron! But of course that’s a topic for another post.

This is a rather belated post, seeing as I baked these madeleines like a day after that chocolate cake from the previous post! Haha so here goes!

Yes horrible photography skills I know. But you can see the humps right? Those beautifully arched camel-ish humps. ABSOLUTELY DELIGHTFUL!!! This is like the most interesting and exciting part of baking madeleines: watching them rise. So you can imagine my absolute joy at watching these babies rise.

Despite this being the third time I’ve made madeleines, what marks me as an amateur baker is the fact that I still can’t gauge the right amount of sugar to add! Thing is my family doesn’t really like sweet stuffs, and that poses a problem to me cause most recipes usually calls for more sugar than preferred. I’ve been told that what I made are too sweet quite a number of times even though I’d reduced the sugar amounts by a few tablespoons. That being said, I was rather afraid that this round of madeleines might turn out too sweet. So I reduced about 3 tablespoons worth of sugar. Wrong move. They turned out slightly too bland :(

Maybe it was just me though cause my sisters and friends said that they liked it because the cocoa was more pronounced.

Or it could always be me developing a sweeter tooth :D

Chocolate and Vanilla Marbled Madeleines (makes 12)
Recipe adapted from Bea’s Marbled Madeleines

150 g all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
3 eggs
1/3 cup (80 g) blond cane sugar
Pinch of sea salt
1 stick unsalted butter, melted and cooled slightly
1 tablespoon pure vanilla extract
1 tablespoon unsweetened cocoa powder, sifted

1. Preheat the oven to 210C and grease your madeleine molds; set aside.

2. In a bowl, combine the quinoa flour, hazelnut meal and baking powder; set aside.

3. Beat the eggs with the sugar and a pinch of salt until light in texture. Stir in the butter and vanilla, and then the flour mixture. Divide the batter in 2/3 and 1/3. Add the cocoa to 1/3 of the batter.

4. Let both batters rest in the fridge, covered, for an hour.

5. Using two teaspoons, add a heaped teaspoon of vanilla batter in each mold and do the same with the cocoa batter. Use a small fork to mix the two batters gently together. You have enough batter to fill the 12 molds.

6. Bake the madeleines for 7 minutes before reducing the oven temperature to 350 F. Prolong the cooking time for 4 to 5 more minutes. Remove the madeleines from the oven and let cool for 5 minutes before unmolding and leave to cook on a rack.

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,494 other followers

